SCHOOLEHANDE THERESE PARTS

Boil-overs? Steering wheel wobble? Front-end hop? Poor gas mileage?

MINIMINIMINIMI



Summer is for Trips & Fun!

Have your car ready!

Miller's Tire & Service

Maytown, PA Phone 426-3430

IT DOES MAKE A
DIFFERENCE WHERE
YOU SAVE

SAVINGS ACCOUNTS
SAVINGS CERTIFICATES
VACATION CLUBS — 5½%
CHRISTMAS CLUBS — 5½%
MORTGAGE LOANS
SHARE LOANS
MONEY ORDERS
CHECK CASHING
FREE PARKING

The Accounts are FSLIC Insured to \$100,000

CENTRAL

Savings & Loan Assoc.

325 Locust Street, Columbia, PA 17512
Phone 684-9500
Open daily 9 am to 3 pm; Friday 9 am to 7:30 pm

Rt. #441 & Colebrook Rd., Marietta, PA 17547
Phone 426-2520
Open daily 9 am to 4 pm; Friday 9 am to 7 pm

EMERGENCY
MEDICAL SERVICES
Available Day & Night
COLUMBIA HOSPITAL
7th & Poplar
(Emergency Entrance)

EMERGENCY
MEDICAL CALLS
Saturday Afternoon
and Sunday
Norlanco Health Center
(Mount Joy Area Only)

Susquehanna Times

[USPS 055-530]
Box 75-A, R.D.#1, Marietta, PA 17547
Published weekly on Wednesdays
[52 issues per year]
Telephone: [717] 426-2212 or 653-8383
Publisher—Nancy H. Bromer
Editor—Diane L. Krantz
Advertising Manager—Kay Kauffman
Marietta Editor—Hazel Baker
Mount Joy Editor—Cherie Dillow
Vol. 80, No. 22, June 4, 1980

Advertising rates upon request
Entered at the Post Office in Marietta, PA, as
second class mail under the Act of March 3, 1879
Subscription Rate—\$6.00/year
[Outside Lancaster County—\$6.50/year]

Awards presented at Riverview

The Riverview Elementary School held its annual Awards Assembly Friday, May 30, students received recognition for many different activities.

Receiving the distinquished awards medal (the highest awarded) for the safety patrol was Grace Henderson. AAA Service pins went to Tim Smith, Regina McCurdy, Missy Valle, Heide Banta, Michele Bote, Joanna Hedgepeth, Michelle Herr, Dennis Gruel, Brian Drager, Tracy Stoner, Beth Marbury, Richard Funk, Mark Spickler, Troy Aldinger, Craig Valle, Tammy Parmer, Kelli Mc-Kain, Sam Forker, Jimmy Beaston, Rose Stotz, Savilla Kennedy and Lisa Wagner.

Merit certificates for safety patrol were presented to Annie Splain, John Welsh, Bobbi Frady, Sheri Steelman, Donna Kemmich, Lori Barton, Bobby Witmer, Michelle Iseminger, Susan Buchanan, Jim Squibs, Deb Hershey, Hiroshi Goromaru, Debbie Noll, Mary Storm, Larry Godsey, Missy Turek, Woody Armold, Theresa Major, Sara Hornbeck, Tony Frady and Lisa Radle.

The following students earned presidential awards for physical fitness: Kelly Chambers, Regina Martin, Sherry Albert, Richard Funk, Craig Valle, Melissa Valle, Hiroshi Goromaru, Tim Smith and Stacy Nein.

Merit awards for physical education went to: Mary Storm, Sherry Noll, Savilla Kennedy, Mark Spickler, Michelle Iseminger, Lori Barton, Michelle Bote, Grace Henderson, John Welsh, Rosemary Kennedy and Joanna Hedgepeth.

Special primary reading awards were presented to Rodney Eshleman, grade 3, for reading the most challenging library books; Michelle McMillen, grade 3, for improving her study skills most; Todd Roberts, grade 3, for improving his study skills; Barry Hawkins, grade 2, for improving study skills; Dennis Squibs, grade 2, for improving study skills; and Donald Fisher, grade 2, for improving his study skills.

Handwriting awards were captured by Heide Banta, Susan Buchanan, Dennis Gruel, Joanna Hedgepeth, Susan Kauffman, Regina Kauffman, Tonya Shoemaker, Anna Splain, Leona Allum, Lori Barton, Michele Bote, Brian Drager, Grace Henderson, Stacy Nein, Christopher Salvatore and Robert Witmer.

Chorus awards went to Leonora Allum, Tina Amig, Heide Banta, Lori Barton, Susan Buchanan, Ursula Cooke, Dennis Gruel, Joanna Hedgepeth, Grace Henderson, Michele Herr, Debbie Hershey, Michele Iseminger, Rosemary Kennedy, Regina McCurdy,

Stacy Nein, Ken Tice, Anna Splain, Tracy Stoner, Missy Valle and Matt Vera.

Special reading awards in intermediate areas went to: Carey Hawkins, most books read in one week; Betty Brenner, grade 4, most improved independent worker; Trevor Hershey, grade 5, most improved reader; and Harry Frankhiuser, grade 6, most challenging library books read.

Students were also honored for outstanding behaviors. Honored for accepting the differences in others were David Lutt in, Cathy Loraw, Abigail Gohn, Katrina Young, David Derr, Lisa Nickey, Amy Elliot, Kathy Brown, Liane Hedgepeth, Troy Aldinger, Kenny Ditzler, Matt Vera, Chris Salvatore, Robert Morro and Troy Schlenbaker.

Recognition for helping others went to Casey Kraus, Joe Herneisen, Whitney Christian, Corinna Ebersole, Scott Nothacker, Sheila McKain, Stacy Heiserman, Mark Sadler, Jeanan Oxley, Chris Schriver, Craig Valle, Troy Custer, Brian Drager, Kelly Chambers, Charles Watson and Vernon Derr.

Rewards for working well together went to Willy Santiago, Tracy Geesey, Jodie Rettew, Lori Gross, Scott Nothacker, Jodie Rapp, Erik Winters, Cheri Waters, Stacy Retew, Troy Aldinger, Chris Schriver, Woody Armold, Tonya Shoemaker, Michelle Herr,



Miss Deborah Ault presents Grace Henderson with her distinguished service award for the safety patrol. John D. Fellenbaum James R. Bennett

Michele Bote, Ursula Cooke, Jerry Dunlap and Georgine White.

The following students were recognized for following rules: Curtis Briel, Angie Nickey, Chrissy Sipe,

Diana Crossland, Kristen Ellswroth, Victor Eisenhower, Alison Drager, Sharon Jordan, Troy Aldinger, Craig Valle, Joanna Hedgepeth, Tina Amig, Virginia Lynn and Lloyd Ebersole.

Jon Horst & Patty Meszaros chosen for special arts program

Two Donegal High School art students have been chosen for a special summer arts program sponsored by Intermediate Unit 13.

Jon Horst and Patty Meszaros are among twelve Lancaster/Lebanon County students specially selected to participate in "Cre-Artivity '80"—three weeks of intensive art training at Millersville State College.

"CreArtivity" is a local program patterned after the PA Governor's School for the Arts and it is organized under the state's program for the "Gifted and Talented."

Last March Jon and Patty, under the direction of Mrs. Linda Ross, high school art teacher, submitted portfolios of their high school art work to be judged by a professional panel of

participation in this program will allow them to work with college professors and to use the facilities in the college's new art building, Breidenstein Hall.

the college's new art building, Breidenstein Hall. Jon, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Horst, Mount Joy, is a junior interested in the field of architecture and interior design.

Patty, a sophomore, is the

daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Meszaros, Maytown. She is interested in the fashion and graphic design field.

Pack 136 cub scouts earn awards, patches

Cub Pack #136 of Mount Joy held its last meeting for the year at Seiler School recently. The pack will meet again in September. Reverend Norman Dunsmore talked about the importance of the cubs continuing into scouting.

Scott Newcomer was accepted into the Webelos Den at the meeting.

Robert W. Mark, Cubmaster, presented awards to the boys. The awards are as follows:

50th year patch—Eric Koser, Kyle Hipple, David Kleinfelter, Jessie Spence, and James Prout;

Denner Cord—Kevin Eby and David Kleinfelter:

Gold Arrow—Harold

Hartman and John Haller;
Silver Arrow—Harold

Hartman; Wolf—Harold Hartman, John Haller and Michael

Ruth;
Scientist—Eric Lutz,
Robert Weatherbie, James
Prout, Michael Boring,
Christopher Jenkins, Andrew Breault, John Ginder,

and Scott Newcomer;
Showman—Eric Lutz,
Robert Weatherbie, James
Prout, Michael Boring, Kirk
Landis, Christopher Jenkins, Andrew Breault, and
John Ginder;

Engineer — Robert Weatherbie;

Forester—James Prout; Citizen—Christopher Jenkins.