

Students present checks to Ambulance Association. From left to right are; Mr. Dettinger, Mitch Johnson, Mr. Kanoff, Mike Greiner. Absent at time of photo was Mr. photo by Corky Flick

Ambulance Associations receive donations from Beahm Jr. High

The W. I. Beahm Jr. High Student Council donated \$300 to the three area ambulance associations. Mitch Johnson, President of the Student Council, and Mike Greiner, Sir Valentine for 1976, presented \$100 to each association to be used to purchase needed equipment.

In previous years, the Student Council donated the proceeds from the Sir

Valentine's Dance to Heart Haven and the Columbia Hospital. This year, the members of the council felt that the ambulance associations do so much for the residents of the Donegal area that council wanted to help these associations improve their programs.

The Student Council and its advisors, Mr. Price and Mr. Greider, feel that an excellent ambulance service is essential to a community. If well organized, it may mean the difference between life and death of those residents using it.

The council will try to be of some financial help to these associations in the future. Its members would like to see other organizations help in keeping our ambulances supplied with the newest equipment pos-

Maytown Memorial Day Services

Memorial Day Service will be held in Maytown on Monday, May 31 starting at 5 p.m.

Chief Marshal will be Norman A. Houseal, Commander, Post 809. Honorary Marshal will be Charles S. Brandt U.S. Navy C.B. W/W II.

clude representatives from Color Guard, Donegal Post 809, Disabled Veterans, Bainbridge Band, Donegal Legion Auxiliary, Ministers, Maytown Bicentennial Comm., Township Supervisors, Boy Scouts, and Columbia Shawnee Band.

Also, Girl Scouts, Maytown Youth Organization, Maytown Jaycees, Church of God Sunday School, Lutheran Sunday School, United Church of Christ, Reich's Evangelical Congregational, Eastern High School Band, Royal Blue Malibu's Baton Corps, and Maytown Fire Company.

There will be ceremonies at the Reformed Cemetery, the Union Cemetery, and Center Square.

A memorial address will be presented by Chester Ray Smith. Colonial Smith's last Army duty was Professor of Military Science at Gettys-

burg College, and director of the Army ROTC programs at York College of PA, Millersville State College, and Mount Saint Mary's College. He retired from the Army last September after more than 34 years of service.

Among his many decora-The processions will in- tions are two Legion of James Smith is a Plebe Merit Medals, the Joint Services Commendation Medal and the Army Commendation Medal.

> His many career assignments included: Company Commander in Europe during World War II, and later in Okinawa; Bettalion Commander and Commander of the Inchon Water Port in Korea; General Staff Officer with an Armored Division in Germany; and about eight years of duty on the General and Special Staffs of Headquarters, Department of the Army and on a Joint Service Staff.

Colonel Smith is a graduate of Maytown High School and Dickinson College. He also earned his Master's Degree in Business Management while serving with the Army at Michigan State University.

Colonel Smith is the son of Mrs. Herbert Smith of Maytown, PA. He and his wife, the former Frances Fackler of Florin, PA resides at 2030 Hollywood Parkway, York, PA.

Coincident with Colonel Smith's retirement from the Army was his son's entry into the United States Military Academy. Cadet (freshman) at West Point. His daughters, Mrs. John Flinchbaugh and Miss Dianne Smith also live in York, PA.

The general committee includes John H. Drace, J. Robert Hollenbaugh, Norman A. Houseal, and Christian Leese.

Also, Joseph P. McLain, Warren P. Rupp, Sr., and William R. Smith.

Maytown Flea Market

The Fourteenth Annual Flea Market will be held on East High Street on Memorial Day starting at 10 a.m. It is sponsored by the Donegal Post, 809 Ladies Auxiliary Unit.

Mount Joy Sewing Club formed

The Mount Joy Sewing Club met for the first time at St. Mark's United Methodist Church on Monday, May 17 at 7:30 p.m.

Officers were elected.

President-Diane Bowman; Secretary-Cindy Martin; Treasurer-Lori Dombach; Song Leaders-Loretta Stoltzfus, Natalie Raudebaugh; News reporter-Cheri Frey; Game Leader-Tracy Underkoffer.

The next meeting will be on June 15.

