THE DALLAS POST

Scout drive benefits food pantry

Members of Boy Scout Troop 281 successfully collected food donations from the Back Mountain on Saturday, March 9. The Scouts picked up over 3,300 non-perishable food items which will help to feed hundreds. These items were sorted, boxed and delivered to the Back Mountain Food Pantry at the Trucksville United Methodist Church. All of the food collected by the Scouts will stay in the Back Mountain. From left, first row, are Jonathan Adams, Matthew Schnable, Vladimir Gingo, Ivan Gingo, Nick Guzzo, John Macy, James Hughes, Ethan Kolojejchick, Alex Perry, Second row, Ryan Trumm, Calvin Crane, Michael Smith, Alex McCarthy, Michael Santora, Zach Dixon, Matt Reynolds, Bradley Adams, Drake Detorre. Third row, David Schnable, Josh Frankevich, Eric Davies, John Murray, Jarod Blockus, Jared Casaldi, Steven Lofing and Paul Smith.

FYSTONE

Continued from Page 1

renaming of the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Yankees, as well as an honorable mention for sports event coverage on the death of Dr. Joseph Mattioli, owner of the Pocono Raceway in Long Pond.

Sports writer Derek Levarse won a second-place award for coverage of sanctions handed down to Penn State University by the NCAA after the Jerry Sandusky sex abuse scandal. He also received a second-place award for sports beat writing about Penn State.

Tom Venesky won a firstplace award for sports/outdoors columns on topics, including a piece headlined "Dirt roads offer a great route to serendipity."

Page designers Rich Sheposh, Michele Aed and Irene Kovaleski won a first-place and two second-place awards, respectively, for front-page design and page design.

The Sunday Dispatch won a first-place award for a photo story by photographer Bill Tarutis, a second-place award for page design by staffer Joe Healey and a second-place award for headline writing by staffer Jack Smiles.

Abington Journal staff writer Elizabeth Baumeister won a second-place award for inves-



tizek at the Sixth Annual Kids Fishing Day sponsored by the Back Mountain Police Association at Frances Slocum State Park has garnered a first-place Keystone Press Award.

tigative reporting of a Ransom Kristie Grier Ceruti and Joan Township pipeline, while Adriane Heine won a first-place award for her columns, including one about the death of the family dog.

Abington Journal staff, including Robert Tomkavage, Elizabeth Baumeister, Jason Riedmiller, Stephanie Walkowski, Emily Taylor and Danielle Antonello-Smolley won a first-place award for Playbook 2012, which highlighted the local football season. The staff also earned a first-place award for "niche publication" of My Edition News for Youth. Staff members Leah Ducato Rudolph, Sandy Longo, Mary Ann McGrath and Shu Qiu at Abington Community Library and Dalton Community Library, respectively, assisted The Abington Journal team of Elizabeth Mead-Matsui in hosting focus groups for youngsters, providing guest columns and creating a monthly DIY craft for children. Also, local children and teens contributed columns, including Paige Eisenlohr, Rachel Ezrin, Mariah Mancuso, Kento Matsui and Ellie Sullum.

Staff members also won second places for a series on romance, first place for sports event coverage, second place for a personality profile, second place for sports beat reporting and a sports photo and two first places and one second place for page design and a graphic/ photo illustration.

Times Shamrock's three daily newspapers in Luze and Lackawanna counties w a total of 25 Keystone Press



PAGE 4

