PAGE 4 / GUIDE TO THE BACK MOUNTAIN 2008

SUNDAY, JULY 27, 2008

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT

## DALLAS BOROUGH

Population: 2,550

Square miles: 2.29

**Borough building:** 25 Main St., Dallas, PA 18612

**Phone:** Borough office, 675-1389; police (non-emergency), 675-0161

Web site: www.dallasborough.org

Office hours: Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Meeting schedule: Council meets on the third Wednesday of the month at 7:30 p.m. in the borough building. Work sessions are held on the previous Monday of the month at 7 p.m. at the borough building. Planning Commission meetings are held as needed. Zoning Hearing Board meetings are held by request.

Mayor: Timothy Carroll

**Council:** Patricia Peiffer, president; Barbara Barnes, vice president; John Appel, Robert Post, Lee Eckert and Christopher Matus

**Treasurer:** Mary Herbert

## Tax collector: Mark Van Etten

## Zoning officer: Tracey Carr

**Recreation:** Kenneth Young Memorial Park, Burndale Road, includes two basketball courts, two tennis courts, a playground and a pavilion with restroom. Park offers summer recreation program for children of Dallas Borough. Call 675-1389.

**Recycling:** Dallas Area Municipal Authority (DAMA), 696-1133

History: Dallas was named for Alexander J. Dallas, the United States Secretary of the Treasury under President James Madison. The borough was established on the Harveys Lake branch of the Lehigh Valley Railroad and was documented as a good business point. In 1889, J.J. Ryman became the prime mover in establishing a broom factory here. He then was named president and general manager of a stock company known as the Dallas Broom Company. In 1890, a meeting of the directors was held at Raub's Hotel in the borough to purchase 80 acres with a consideration being \$5,000.

**Municipalities continued Page 6** 

