

2007 JEFFERSON AWARDS



Presented By THE TIMES LEADER





Darlene Duggins Wilkes-Barre Nominator: Ashley Williams



Lois T. Myers West Nanticoke Nominator: Ellen Myers Parmenteri



Inayat Kathio Yatesville Nominator: **Bonnie Chocallo**



Sister Miriam Stadulis, Nanticoke Nominator: Kathleen Button



Rev. Micki Robinson Mountain Top Nominator: Patricia Auker



Chuck Romanowski Ashley Nominator: Cathy Romanowski



Forty Fort Nominator: **Marion Sterling**



Duane Seltzer Dorrance Township Nominator: Bill Jones



Douglas Ayers Kingston Township Nominator: Charles Barber



Charie Aponick Shavertown Nominator: Charles Barber



Mary Jean Schultz Kingston Nominator: Jennifer Knickman



Robert Fortinsky Kingston Nominator: Charles Davis



Jean Williams Kingston Nominator: Lori Prashker



Jaclyn Pocceschi Mosley, Laurel Run Nominator: Multiple Nominators



Gina Pocceschi Boyle, Sweet Valley Nominator: Multiple Nominators



Ruth Ann Koval Bear Creek Township Nominator: Joan Belcher



Marie Marshall Shickshinny Nominator: Peggy Yanklunas



Stan Hamilton Wilkes-Barre Nominator: Sue Strassman



James Davenport Dunmore Nominator: Michael S. Taluto



John U. Johnson Jr. Kingston Nominator: **Bart Balcomb**



Robert Law, Dallas Nominators: Marilyn Gregorski and Betty Sorchik



Bernadette McKinney Mountain Top Nominator: Anne Rappaport



Erik Yaple Shickshinny Nominator: JoAnn Welch



Theresa Hann Shavertown Nominator: Colleen Gawlas



Harriet Clyde Kipps Glen Lyon Nominator: Veronica Monterolla



Ron D'Eliseo Duryea Nominator: Charles Barber



James T. Martin Sr. Wilkes-Barre Nominator: Patricia Martin



Maxwell Marcus Exeter Nominator: Mayor Joseph Coyne



Fred DeSanto Pittston Township Nominator: Arthur J. Savokinas



Francis Wolman Kingston Nominator: James Godlewski



Mountain Top Nominator: Rosanne Kuhar

Congratulations semifinalists. Since 1972, The American Institute for Public Service has presented The Jefferson Awards to distinguish and encourage community service.



Keynote Speaker, State Senator Lisa Baker

Prior to being elected to the state Senate in 2006, Senator Lisa Baker held various leadership positions within Pennsylvania state government. Senator Baker served as Deputy Chief of Staff to Governors Tom Ridge and Mark Schweiker, Director of Tom Ridge's Northeast Regional Office, Chief of Staff to State Senator Charles Lemmond and Research Analyst to State Senator Robert C. Jubelirer. In each of these roles, she worked with officials from federal, state and local governments, the business community, and other concerned citizens, to create a better Pennsylvania.

Senator Baker most recently served as the Executive Director of The Blue Ribbon Foundation, which was established in 2002 to support health and wellness

initiatives in northeastern and north central Pennsylvania.

Active in community and civic organizations, Senator Baker currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Children's Service Center, the Pennsylvania Association of Nonprofit Organizations, the United Way of Wyoming Valley, and the Advisory Board of Penn State Wilkes-Barre. She is a past-member of the Board of Directors of Leadership Wilkes-Barre, the Council of Trustees of Shippensburg University, and served as Chairperson for the United Way of Wyoming Valley's 2004-2005 Community Campaign.

Senator Baker is a graduate of Dallas High School and Shippensburg University where she received a B.A. in Government Administration. She is a graduate of the Anne B. Anstine Excellence in Public Service Series, the Senior Executives in State and Local Government program at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, and the Strategic Leadership for State Executives program at the Governor's Center at Duke University.

Senator Baker resides in Lehman Township, Luzerne County, with her husband of 21 years, Gary, and their son Carson, a ninth-grade student at Lake-Lehman High

The public is welcome to honor 31 local heroes by attending the nominees luncheon April 19th at The Woodlands Inn and Resort. For more information or to RSVP call 829-7118. Space is limited.

Doors open at 11:30 a.m., luncheon begins at 12:15 p.m.

THE TIMES LEADER timesleader.com