### Wilkes University Announces Dean's **List For Spring 2002 Semester**

Dr. James Rodechko, Vice President for Academic Affairs, has named the following students to the Wilkes University Dean's List for the Spring 2002 Students must achieve grade point average of 3.4 or higher and maintain 12 credits or more to be named to the Dean's List.

Kevin Frank, Dallas; Bridget Giunta, Dallas; Adeline Groblewski, Dallas; Brianna Herron, Dallas; Jennifer Klaips, Dallas; Megan McAndrew, Dallas; Mark Mittrick, Dallas; Mary Ricci, Dallas; Holly Shiber, Dallas; Vanessa Velikis, Dallas; Jennifer Vodzak, Dallas; Andrea

Bryant, Dallas; Bridgette Petro, Harveys Lake; Samuel Saylor, Harveys Lake; Ravikant Agarwal, Harveys Lake; Christina Baigis, Shavertown; John Fielding, Shavertown; Matthew Koch, Shavertown; Corey Shavertown; Peter Redmond, Shavertown; Abigail Redmond, Shavertown; Kristin Roberts, Shavertown; Scott Sobocinski, Shavertown; Adriana Solorzano. Shavertown; Marcus Sowcik, Shavertown: Lisa Tomaine. Shavertown: Jason Warrelman. Shavertown; Melissa Gallup. Shavertown; Leanne Piasta, Trucksville and Jason Reynolds, Trucksville.

### **Aquilina graduates from Lehigh University**

Charlene Aquilina, of Shaver-University students to graduate mental honors in English.

TOTAL ENCLOSED

Reserve my card in this name:

Aquilina, who received a B.A. town, was one of 1,200 Lehigh in English, also received depart-



### Dallas Middle School students win poster contest

Recently, sixth and eighth grade students at Dallas Middle School participated in a poster contest sponsored by the Wyoming Valley Sanitary Authority. The theme of the contest was the preservation of the earth's resources. Pictured are the winning students whose posters best reflected the theme, from left, row one: Dominic Roppa, Jennifer Mines, Ashley Meyers, and Lauren Kelly. Row two: Joseph Pretko, Heather McDonald, and Alex Napierkowski. Row three: Mr. Daniel Flynn, science instructor; Sasha Bloch, Alex Tasco, Brian Gregory, Ryan Karichner and Ms. Christie Potera, science instructor.



Janet Rosenbaum, left, is shown receiving the Outstanding Staff Member for the Commonwealth College from Diane Disney, dean of Penn State University's Commonwealth College.

### Janet Rosenbaum selected for two prestigious Penn State University awards

Janet Rosenbaum, assistant director of continuing education at Penn State Wilkes-Barre, had the distinction of receiving two awards for outstanding service at University Park this spring.

In addition to being named the Outstanding Employee in Continuing Education for 2001 by Pat Book, Ph.D., vice-president for outreach and executive director for continuing education, she also earned an award for the Outstanding Staff Member for the Commonwealth College, presented by Diane Disney, Ph.D., dean of Penn State's Commonwealth College. Both awards are highly competitive and are awarded only to staff members who demonstrate excellence beyond their job description. The awards recognized Rosenbaum for her superior work performance and extraordinary contributions to Penn State Wilkes-Barre and the Commonwealth College.

"Janet has demonstrated the highest level of sophistication in linking the education and training capabilities of the University to positively impact organizations and individuals in the campus service area," said Ina K. Lubin, director of continuing education at the campus in Lehman.

Rosenbaum has been affiliated with Penn State Wilkes-Barre since 1993. She earned her

or call 829-7270 toll free 1-800-427-8649

Phone orders, call 829-7270.

Charge to my credit card #

bachelor's degree in psychology and business management from Fairleigh Dickinson University and earned her M.S. in Organizational Management from College Misericordia. She is an active participant in Penn State Wilkes-Barre's Master Planning and Information Sciences and Technology committees, the Commonwealth College Technology Solutions Group, and Outreach & Continuing Education Statewide Programs Advisory Council and Management Development Advisorv Group.

She is a graduate of the Leadership Wilkes-Barre class of 1996, has chaired the United Way allocations committee, and is the current chair of the Junior Leadership Wilkes-Barre Advisory Council. During her career at Penn State Wilkes-Barre, Rosenbaum has also received the campus Penn Stater of the Quarter Award (2001), the Emerging Continuing & Distance Education Professional Award (1996), and the campus Hayfield Innovation Award (1995).

She resides in Shavertown with daughters, Stacy and Leslie.

Janet Rosenbaum, left, is shown receiving the Outstanding Staff Member for the Commonwealth College from Diane Disney, dean of Penn State University's Commonwealth College.

# **Bishop O'Reilly Fourth Quarter Honor Roll**

Susan Dennen, Principal of Bishop O'Reilly High School, Kingston, has released the school's honor roll for the fourth quarter marking period. The following honor roll students reside in the Back Mountain area.

Distinguished Honors: Daniel Suhocki, Leeanne Griffith, and Kristin Evans.

First Honors: Rebecca Finch, Stephanie Gionta, Courtney Reap, Jaime Verazin, Sally Cusma, Andrew Gialanella, Mary

Herman, Robert Baur, Conor Judge, Sandra Krogulski, Meg Mathewson, Gracemarie Mike, and Joanna Smith.

Second Honors: Colin Donnelly, Monica Latosek, Meaghan Peeler, Curri Serhan, Jane Clements, Erin DeCesaris, Molly Guntli, Yolanda Kopczynski, Meghan Reino, Adrienne Ruggerio, Sean Walski, Mary Yanik, Rebecca Hizney, Megan Mitchell, Jessica Ryan, Gregory Suhocki, Sara Wolman, and John Yanik.

## **TUM Sunday School closes school** year with award recognition

The Sunday School of the Trucksville United Methodist Church closed their school year in collaboration with the recent Ground Breaking program for the new wing of the Education Building. This year 149 children, youth and adults were enrolled in the school. Sixty children and vouth were recognized for their attendance and perfect attendance awards were given to Andrew Santora and Kellie and Caitlyn Meehan.

Special recognition was given

to members of the youth group graduating from high school this year. Included were Brett Brown, Karla Blase, Stephanie Jury, Ryan Pettit, Rebecca Price and Jill Youngblood.

The Sunday School Superintendents, Debbie Jury, Janet Kozokas and Sue Tracy, were assisted by 33 teachers during this year. Rev. W. Charles Naugle, Pastor, and Margaret Jonson, Lay Leader, were the instructors for the adult classes.

#### **Anselmi honored by Syracuse University**

Katherine Anselmi, of Dallas, a student in the College of Law at Syracuse University, received the Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction Award for New York Civil Practice at the college's awards convocation held this

The Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction Award is presented annually by the College of Law to the graduating student who has achieved the highest grade

### **Bishop graduates from James Madison**

Ann Marie Bishop, of Dallas recently graduated from James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Virginia.

### Herman graduates from Niagara University

Catherine Herman, of Dallas, recently took part in graduation ex-

#### ercises at Niagara University. Nackley inducted into national honor society

Nicole Nackley, Dallas, was recently inducted into Phi Kappa Phi

national honor society at Ithaca College. Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the only national honor society which recognizes and encourages superior scholarship in all disciplines of higher education.

Nackley majors in Business Administration.





To subscribe, call 829-5000 or toll free 1-800-252-5603 Monday through Friday 6:00 a.m.- 7:30 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday 7:00 a.m.- 2:00 p.m.