Dallas High School fetes honor students

By CHARLOT M. DENMON Staff Writer

Nearly 200 honored students and their parents attended the Dallas Senior High School's 1991 Honors Banquet May 21 at Irem Temple Country Club.

Faculty member Mrs. Margaret Johnson, Honor Society Advisor, inducted 20 juniors into the society prior to the dinner and program that followed.

Westmoreland School Principal Samuel Barbose gave the invocation followed by a welcome by High School Principal Frank Galicki and remarks by Superintendent Ger-

ald Wycallis. This year for the first time special honors were presented to ninth grade students, including NEDT Certificate Winners Molly Baines, Andrew Bishop, Kenneth Chapple, Jeanenne Fagan, Jonathan Fletcher, Catherine Grossman, Traci Gusher, John Howe, Jeffrey Krehely, Lynn Murphy, Gregory Nadzan, Douglas Roberts, Abby Russin and Nicole Steltz; straight A's Jeanenne Fagan, and perfect endance Michelle Metzgar and

Jonathan Fletcher.

Sophomores receiving awards were Trina Huynh, Hugh O'Brien Leadership Award; Matt Sleightholm and Adam Jatkowski, Rotary Leadership Camp for Boys; Nina Mathers and Theresa Mathers, Rotary Leadership for Girls: Karen Wisnieski and Rebecca Yurko, All A's; Josiah Garlan, James Moran, Karen Wisniewski, perfect atten-

NEDT Certificate winners were Jed Aston, Marc Barbose, William Camp, William Dover, Theresa Fagan, David Grossman, Harry Haas, Marie Hosey, Trina Huynh, Adam Jatkoski, Casey Kernag, Wendy Kerr, Jill Kowalski, Joseph Lanunziata, Nina Mathers, Kelly McIntyre, James Moran, Melissa Pomrinke, Valerie Prothero, Holly Randolph, David Seidel, Matt Sleightholm, Karen Wisniewski, Heather Wright, Rebecca Yurko and Bridget Zimniski.

Special 11th grade awards included Pennsylvania Governor's School for the Arts, Kristen Gurdin; Pennsylvania Free Enterprise, Eric Lehman and Keith McDonald; Wilkes-Barre Junior Leadership

Mead and Emily Russin; perfect attendance, Scott Bearley, Christina Giovanelli and Eric Wil-

Department awards were presented by social studies chairman John Turner to Lynn Murphy, ninth grade; Becky Yurko, 10th; Keith McDonald, 11th; Kim Gavin 12th. Awards in absentia were to William Baran and Gerald Stinson, retiring faculty members.

Science awards were presented by Margaret Johnson to Andrew Bishop 9th; Becky Yurko, 10th; Eric Lehman, 11th; and Jeri Searfoss, 12th.

Music awards were presented by Florence Sherwood to Stephen Schaefer, band; Eric Clothier, special band music; Damian Litz, chorus; Beirit Case, special chorus award.

Mathematics awards by Ed Augustine were given to Jeanenne Fagan, 9th; Rebecca Yurko, 10th; Eric Lehman, 11th; Mark Labbate,

Industrial Arts awards were presented by Craig Good to Neil Kaiser and Heath Williams. Home

Program, Kristin Gurdin, Heather Economics awards presented by Meagan Wega; Commended Na- an outstanding incoming fresh-Mrs. Lavada Riggins to Leann Brody, Jamie Ambrose and Kim Gavin.

Health and Physical Education awards were presented by Larry Schuler to Monica Saxon, Bridget Zimniski, Justin Reich, and Gretchen Schuler.

Foreign Language awards were presented by Arno Miller to Stephanie Reese, Spanish; Andrea Brinola, French, and Alessandra Perfetti, German. English awards by Don Hopkins were given to Mollie Baines, Gregory Nadzan, Rebecca Yurko, Kristin Gurdin and Megan

Business awards were presented by Mrs. Pat Russin to Greg Nadzan, Kristine Kaleta, Denise Wysocki and Frank Suponcic. Art awards by Mrs. Jane Walzak went to Aria ierson, Rob Morris, Andy Johnson, Paul May and Andrea

Following presentation of the department awards, scholarships, monetary awards and special awards were presented to the seniors including Valedictorian, State Main Campus, David Lieber-Jeri Searfoss; Salutatorian, man; Presidential Scholarship on

Mark Drumin; Dallas Area Federated Woman's Club Book Scholarships, Jeri Searfoss, Meagan Wega and Emery Yurko; King's College Scholarship (Moreau Scholarship),

Meagan Wega Penn State Scholarships -Penn State Wilkes-Barre Campus Advisory Baord Academic Scholarship, Jeri Searfoss, Stephen Schaefer, Jeff Mokychic, David Raker, Kim Stager and Michael Tomaine; Luzerne County Association Educational Secretaries/Office Personnel, Kristy Culp; Century III Leaders Program, Meagan Wega; National Scholar/Athletic Award, Molly Connolly and Emery Yurko; DAR Award, Meagan Wega; Principals, Leadership Award nominee, Molly Connolly; Rotary Book Scholarship, Lynn Baluh, Stephen Schaefer; Candidate for Brian Piccolo Athletic Memorial Award, Sean Shovlin; Congressman Paul Kanjorski Foundation Award, Emery Yurko; Warren J. Cease Memorial Award to a student attending Penn

tional Merit Scholarship Program, man student Rochester Technology Institute, Marc Labbate; perfect attendance, Charles Clothier, Gregory Riedlinger, Robert Wright; Carol Pierson Memorial Scholar-

ship, Diane Demko. Presidential Academic Fitness Award winners were Molly Connolly, Paul Deeble, Mark Dramin, Thanh Huynh, Marc Labbate, David Lieberman, Michael Moses, Mary Pfeiffer, Jeri Searfoss, Michael Tomaine, Meagan Wega,

Emery Yurko. The National Honor Society members and the WNEP-TV Scholarship Bowl students were also

Note:

Additional photos will appear in The Post's special graduation pages in the June 12 issue.



CAROL PIERSON AWARD-Dallas Senior Diane Demko received the Carol Pierson Memorial Scholarship sponsored by Sharon Boyer, close friend of the late Mrs. Pierson who as secretaru to uperintendent Gerald Wycallis. Above from left are Sharon Boyer, who made the presentation, Phillip Pierson, Diane Demko and Superintendent Wycallis. (Post Photo/C.M. Denmon)



LEADERSHIP AWARD-Mrs. Terry Buda, principal's assistant, Frank Galicki, high school principal, are shown with Dallas High School juniors, Heather Mead, Emily Russin and Kristin Gurdin, who were recipients of the Wilkes-Barre Junior Leadership Program Awards at the Dallas Honors Banquet Tuesday. (Post Photo/C.M. Denmon)



BOOK SCHOLARSHIPS-Seniors Emery Yurko, Meagan Wega and Jeri Searfoss, above, with Mrs. Terry Buda, principal's assistant, received Dallas Federated Woman's Club Book Scholarships at the allas Honors banquet last Tuesday. The three seniors were recipients of numerous awards including scholarships and plaques for their achievements. (Post Photo/C.M. Denmon)



SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARDS-U.S. Army Sgt. Kluzynski, above, presented Emery Yurko and Molly Connolly, Dallas seniors with the National Scholar/Athlete Awards at the Dallas High School Honors Banquet last Tuesday. They are shown above with Mrs. Buda and Frank Galicki, administrators at the high school. (Post Photo/C. M. Denmon)



PENN STATE AWARDS-Recipients of the Penn State Scholarships at the Dallas Honors Banquet last Tuesday are shown following the presentation. In front are Kim Stager, Jeri Searfoss, Stephen Schaefer; back row, Jeff Mokychic, Mike Tomaine, David Raker and Mrs. Buda, principal's assistant. (Post Photo/C. M. Denmon)



ENTERPRISE AWARD-Pennsylvania Free Enterprise awards were presented to Dallas High School Juniors to Eric Lehman and Keith McDonald at the Dallas High School Honors Banquet last Tuesday Above, after reciving their awards are Mrs. Buda, principal's assistant, Eric Lehman, High School Principal Frank Galicki and Keith McDonald. (Post Photo/C.M. Denmon)