SCHOOL

Lisa Davenport receives Penn State scholarship

Lisa Dawn Davenport, of Shavertown, a senior at Dallas Senior High School, has been awarded an Advisory Board scholarship at the Penn State Wilkes-Barre campus for the 1990-91 academic year.

John Murphy, director of Student Programs and Services at the campus made the presentation to Davenport at a recent ceremony at the high school. On hand was Principal Frank Galicki and Guidance Counselor Patricia Russin.

Davenport, who ranks 4th in her class, is a member of the National Honor Society and U.S. Youth Salute. She received a Girl Scout Gold Award, NEDT Award and German Award, and participated in District Chorus. She is a member of the Student Council, Forensics/Debate Team, and student yearbook staff. Her special interests include Marine Biology, conservation and ecology, computers and music.

She plans to major in marine science.

More than 65 students received scholarships at the campus for the 1989-90 academic year.



SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENT - Lisa Dawn Davenport of Shavertown has received the Advisory Board Scholarship to Penn State Wilkes-Barre. Shown from left, Dallas High School principal Frank Galicki, Guidance Counselor Rachel Russin, Davenport and John Murphy, Penn State Director of Student Programs and Service.

School notes

Dallas High begins Driver Training Program

A two week Driver Theory Program will again be offered to anyone living within the Dallas School District beginning June 18. To register call Dallas Senior High 675-5201.

Lyons graduates from Lycoming

Timothy Lyons of Dallas was among the 193 students who recently participated in graduation ceremonies Sunday, May 6 at Lycoming College. He received a degree in Accounting.

Sorber gains degree from Clarion

Kimberly Ann Sorber of Harveys Lake, received her diploma during commencement ceremonies at Clarion University on Saturday, May 12, at 10- a.m. and 2 p.m. in Tippin Gymnasium.

Ms. Sorber's will receive a Bachelor degree in Special Education.

Sumner selected to scholastic honor society

DeAnn Lee Sumner, a senior from Dallas, is among 59 University of the Pacific students selected for membership in Phi Kappa Phi, a national scholastic honor society. Sumner attends School of Pharmacy and is the daughter of Mrs. Joan Malmstone.

Students are selected for the organization on the basis of academic excellence. Up to the top 10 percent of the graduating class is eligible, along with selected junior class and graduate students.

Trucksville Nursery enrollment open

Enrollment for the 1990-91 four year old program is still open at the Trucksville Nursery School. Inquiries can be made by calling 696-3897.

The Kingston Twp. police department recently gave a safety presentation to the three and four year old classes at Trucksville Nursery School classes. Officer Jim Balavage spoke about car and bicycle safety.

Students to graduate from Sem Lower School

Wyoming Seminary Lower School, Forty Fort, will graduate 45 eighth grade students on Tuesday, May 29 at 1 p.m.

Numerous prizes and academic awards will be presented to students at the ceremony. Dr. William Summerhill, chaplain of Wyoming Seminary, will offer invocation. Jonathan Weinberger, Scranton, a member of the class, will deliver the graduation address. The presentation of certificates and awards will be made by Dr. Wallace F. Stettler, President of Wyoming Seminary, by Thomas E. Meseck, dean of the Lower School, and by D. Allan Woodard, assistant dean. Among the members of the Wyoming Seminary 8th grade class of 1990 are: Douglas Aponick, Shavertown; Frances Davis, Dallas; Sonia Kimm, Shavertown; Amy Olsen, Trucksville; Sean Reynolds, Dallas; Meghan Robbins, Shavertown; Edward Schoen, Dallas; Molly Shea, Dallas; Andrew Sordoni, Harveys Lake; Jenny Togias, Shavertwon; Constantine Tsoutsoplides, Shavertown; and Holly

Zug, Dallas.



Dallas Middle School SADD Dance Contest Winners Recently the Dallas Middle School SADD, Students Against Driving Drunk, Chapter had a "Hat Contest" during a school dance where over 30 prizes were awarded in various categories. Prizes were donated by local merchants.

Winners pictured, first row, Steve Lieberman, Katie Sallitt, Mike Vozniak, Nicole Pilecki, Keith Garcia. Second row, Heather Kowolski, Kim Jones, Heather Adams, Amy Brinola, Jennifer Zarnoch, Melanie Evans, and Kara Edwards. Third row, Bill Richardson, Bill Dover, Ryan Clemm, Glenn Elesworth, April McAllister, Heather Broody.



Subscribe now

