2000 AIJCA Junior Leadership Conference And Educational Contests Held

WICHITA FALLS, Texas — The American-International Junior Charolais Association (AIJCA) held their Junior National Leadership Conference June 19-23 in Wichita Falls, Texas. The Multi-Purpose Event Center served as the location for the leadership seminars and educational contests. One hundred and ninety-two AIJCA members from 25 states participated in the weeklong event.

The leadership activities began Tuesday, June 20 with opening ceremonies. A variety of educational workshops were held on topics such as goal setting, determining herd health and information about cattle diseases.

Educational contests were also held throughout the week.

Carrie Rhoades of Bradford, OH received first place in the Senior Poster Contest; second place in the Senior Impromptu Speech Contest; the Elite Gold Award; \$1,000 American-International Charolais Foundation Scholarship; the Gold Award; and the Reserve Champion Bred and Owned (females): RCR Cypsee 227, 1-29-99, by JWK Impressive D040 ET.

Emily Rhoades of Bradford, OH received second place in the Senior Poster Contest.

Shenna Kubeja of Springboro, PA received second place in the Junior Prepared Speech Contest.

Timothy VanReenan of Springboro, PA received first intermediate place in the Junior Prepared Speech Contest.

Racheal McCoy of Hillsboro,

OH received a \$1,000 American-International Charolais Foundation Scholarship.

At the banquet more than \$33,000 in college scholarship were awarded to AIJCA members who excell in leadership, community service, academics, and promoting the Charolais breed. This year 44 AIJCA members competed for the top scholarships.

At the meeting, AIJCA members elected their 2000-2001 Board of Directors and Officers.

The Officers are President: Maria Schnitzler, Elizabeth, Ill.; Vice President and Area 8 Director: Jamie Sparks, LaMonte, Mo.; Secretary and Area 7 Di rector: Jay Watje, Willmar, Minn.; and Treasurer and Area 6: Laci Lehman, Celina, Texas.

The Directors are Area 1: Monette Vessell, Flintville, Tenn.; Area 2: Brittney Bracewell, Elgin, Texas; Area 3: Corrie Vedvei, Lake Preston, S.D.; Area 4: Kelly Sonderup, Fullerton, Neb.; Area 5: Justin Butler, College Station, Texas; Area 9: D.J. Holt, Ozark, Ark.; Area 10: Brandon Bertsche, Flanagan, Ill.; Area 11: Ashley Tungate, Verona, Ky.; Area 12: Carolyn Pritchett, Evergreen, Ky.; Area 13: Cliff Celsor, Lafayette, Tenn.; Area 14: Greg Peck, Mullica Hill, NJ; and Area 15: Kevin Johansen, Syracuse, Mo.



Winners of the Prepared Speech Contest include from left to right: Junior Division: First Nick Gosen, Albert Lea, Minn.; Second Shenna Kubeja, Springboro, Pa.; Intermediate Division: First Tim VanReenen, Hillsboro, W. Va.; and Senior Division: First Matt Odden, Ree Heights, SD.

Glickman Names Members, Alternates To National Tobacco Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Ag riculture Secretary Dan Glickman has named 14 members and their alternates to the National Advisory Committee for Tobacco Inspection Services. Members and alternates will serve a two-year term ending May 24, 2002. The committee advises the secretary on the level of services needed to provide USDA inspection for the major types of tobacco and on fees to charge for these services.

Newly appointed members, followed by their alternates, are:

Ernest Richard Terry, Madison, Fla., and Jon Wallace Deas, Jennings, Fla.; James Emory Tate, Denton, Ga., and David Harrell Lee, Alma, Ga.; Charles Murray Harden, Windsor, N.C., and Elbert Pay Pitt, Macclesfield, N.C.; and Lynda Gilliam Bowers, Sanford, N.C., and Charles Mosley Lambeth, Greensboro, N.C.

Reappointed members, followed by their alternates, are: Terry Rye Gilbert, Danville, Ky., and Benjamin Lye Clifford, Cynthiana, Ky.; William Hamilton Fritz, Cynthiana, Ky., and Frances Ann Brown, London, Ky.; Kerry Hade Lyons, Tompkinsville, Ky., and Charlie Benge, London, Ky.; Richard Arnold Enoch, Mebane, N.C., and Richard Joseph Jenks, Apex, N.C.; Clay Hester Vernon, Milton, N.C., and Earl Brown Hendrix, Raeford, N.C.; John Leonard Hudson, Newton Grove, N.C., and Margie Humphrey Spivey, Lumberton, N.C.; Kenneth Stephen Ring, Georgetown, Ohio, and Larry Wayne Hall, Georgetown, Ohio; Donald

Keith Allen, Latta, S.C., and Floyd Coleman Worley, Nichols, S.C.; Jeffrey Lynn Aiken, Telford, Tenn., and Carl Hobert Bolton, Tazewell, Tenn.; and Cynthia Kaye Compton, Richlands, Va., and Richard Lous Sutherland, Elks Creek, Va.

Appointees may serve a maximum of three 2-year terms as members and alternates.

