Lancaster farming. (Lancaster, Pa., etc.) 1955-current, July 11, 1998, Image 21

Below is the OCR text representation for this newspapers page. It is also available as plain text as well as XML.

    Penn Manor Hosts
(Continued from Page A2O)
honored for their work with the
association and their school
accomplishments. Gerald W.
Reichard, teacher from Waynes
boro and Samuel R. Wagner,,
teacher from West Perry, were
• Service, Awards. Honored
were Samuel R. Wagner and Stew
art McDonough, 35 years; P.
Timothy Vought, 30 years; George
Albright, Ronald Althoff,
Anthony M. Mikloiche, and Ste
phen Miller, 25 years; Harold C.
Berkheiser, 20 years; Dr. MeeCee
Baker, Scott Howell, and Cecil M.
Lohr, 15 years; Vicki T. Lantz, 10
years; and Erie C. Dixon. Jeffrey
Stoltzfus, and Thomas E. Willey,
five years. Honored for one year of
service were James Bane, Paul A.
Bohnert, Daniel Cherrie, Joan C.
FarweU, Jennifer K, Gabryluk,
Karen Harrison. John Howell,
Lynn Maloney, Christine L.
McCahren, Krista B. Pontius. Har
ley Ramsey, Jason Reifsnyder,
Kim Schildt, Kim Marie Steward,
and James Stutzman.
• Teacher of Teachers. This
category honors those who recruit
students to be teachers. Honored
were C. Lehman Metzler, bronze;
Earl K. Brown and John F. Deasy,
silver; and Dr. Kenneth B. Rhodes,
• National Association of Agri
cultural Educators (NAAE) Out
standing Young Member for Pen
nsylvania is Mark R. Anderson,
Eastern York.
• 30-Minute Club. This categ
ory honors people who have spent
more than 30 minutes writing arti
cles for magazines and newspap
ers. Honored were Dr. MccCcc
Baker, Paid. L. Heasley, Dale Lay
. field, Marc Moran, Gerald J.
Reichard, Tiffany Roberson, Dr.
Dennis Scanlon. Jeffrey Stoltzfus,
Dr. M. Susan Whitflhgton, and Dr.
Edgar P. Yoder.
• PVATA Ideas Unlimited. This
program honors those who deve
lop creative ideas for ag programs
in schools. Winning first place and
$lOO was Arba Henry, for his S AE
recordbook score sheet, Solanco
High School Winning second and
$75 was Gerald Reichard, Ship
pensburg, for toy and craft plans
for FFA. Winning third and $5O
was Paul Heasley, State College.
• PVATA Honorary Life Mem
berships: granted to Gerald W.
Reichard and Samuel R. Wagner.
National Association of Agricultural Educators (NAAE)
Outstanding Young Member tor Pennsylvania Is Mark R.
Anderson, Eastern York, at right. At left is Tom Willey, PVA
TA president.
State Ag Teachers Conference
Also, citrus sale awards were
granted to first place school. West
Perry; second, James Buchanan;
third, Waynesboro; fourth, New
port; fifth. Eastern York; sixth,
Shippensburg; seventh, Somerset;
eighth. West Snyder; ninth, Eli
zabethtown; and 10th, Littles town.
PVATA scholarships also were
awarded. The awards, of $350
each, went to Nicole Suzanne
Over, a 1996 graduate of the
Northern Bedford FFA, majoring
in dairy and animal science at Pehn
Stale, and Curtis Reichard, 1998
graduate of Blue Ridge FFA, to
begin his studies in dairy and ani
mal science at the Penn State Mont
Alto Campus this fall.
CTurn to Page A 24)
Several were honored for years of service. Honored were
Samuel R. Wagner, far right, 35 years. Also honored were
Harold C. Berfchelser, second from left, 20 years and Ronald
Althoff, second from right, 25 years.
Two were honored for their work with the association and
their school accomplishments: Gerald W. Relchard, teach
er from Waynesboro, far right and Samuel R. Wagner,
teacher from West Perry, center. At left is Tom Willey, PVA
TA president.