

Junior production award winners with trophy donors are from left, seated, Jami Savage, Kelly Myers, and Kelli Savage. Standing, Dick Sutton, Jason Myers, Carl Bender, Douglas King, and Matt DeBaugh.

Maryland Holstein Convention Held In Timonium

(Continued from Page A1)

of agriculture as it relates to public perception issues. In talking about the business lifecycle, he explained that growth is the number one reason businesses both prosper and fail.

Carl Bender, a dairyman from Accident, in Garrett County, was elected president of the Maryland Holstein Association He steps into the role after serving as vice-president for the past two years. Mr Bender and his wife, Martha, milk 182 registered Holsteins at two different farms in Garrett County Bender replaces Jason Myers of New Windsor, who stepped down after serving two years as president

Elected vice-president of the organization was Arthur Rhoderick, of Hagerstown. Anita Hill, Thurmont, will continue to serve as secretary-treasurer

Mr. Bender thanked the group for the opportunity to work with a great group of breeders He credits much of the success of Maryland's club to Anita Hill Her behind the scenes work enables the organization to run as smoothly as it does, he said, enabling the leadership to reach its full potential "Two years ago when they asked if I'd be vice-president, if Anita Hill hadn't been secretary, I'm not sure if I would have accepted it," he said.

Mr Bender said he feels another strong point of the Maryland club is its youth participation. He is encouraged by the young people who are so active in agriculture and in the youth programs "If you watch how you do things, there's still a future in farming," he said.

No new directors were elected at this year's meeting.

Jessica Fritz was awarded a \$2,000. scholarship by the Maryland Holstein Association to continue her studies in Dairy Science at the University of Maryland. Four \$750. scholarships were also awarded, and went to Autumn Guyton, Kelli Savage, Kelly Myers, and Jana Edwards.

(Turn to Page A21)



Senior production award winners from left, standing, Mariin Hoff, Tom Crothers, Jay Phipps-Douthit, Wayne Savage, Mike Doody, and Greg Wiles. Seated, Charles Dean, Cindee Savage, Liz Doody, Becky Wiles, and in front, Casey Doody.



The new officers are from left, Carl Bender, president; Anita Hill, secretary/treasurer; and Arthur Rhoderick, vice president.



Scholarship award winners are from left, Jessica Fritz, Kelly Myers, Kelli Savage, Jana Edwards, and Autumn Guyton.



Record Book winners are from left, standing, Intermediate girls, Emily Yelster, first; Courtney Smith, second; Kelly Burrier, third. Intermediate boys, David Smith, first; Andrew Lenhart, second; and Jacob Pieper, third. Senior girls, Kristen Myers, first; Barbara Schenning, second; Jamie Savage, third. Senior boys, Ryan Savage, first, Justin Watt, sec-

ond; and Daniel Magness, third.

Seated, Andrew Herbst, first year record book winner; Junior boys, Christopher Beachy, first; T. J. Remsberg, second; Ryan Haines, third. Samantha Satterfieh, first year record book winner; junior girls, Erin Magness, first; Hanna Smith, second; and Ashley Lenhart, third.