Vol. 41 No. 34

60¢ Per Copy

Lancaster Farming, Saturday, June 29, 1996

Four Sections

\$27.50 Per Year

American Guernsey Association Elects Officers, Holds Sale

VERNON ACHENBACH JR. Lancaster Farming Staff HUNT VALLEY.

MUNT VALLEY,
Md. — Members of the American
Guernsey Association from across
the United States held their annual
convention, sale and business
meeting this week at the Marriott
Hunt Valley Inn, in Hunt Valley,
Md.

As one of the last items of business, the AGA board of directors reorganized. Continuing as president is Cline Brubaker, of Virginia, while John Morrow, of Pennsylvania, has been selected its first vice president. Second vice president is Peter Coon, of New York state.

Other members of the board include Truman Weaver of Indiana, Linda Madsen of California, Clark Viliter of Wisconsin, Kevin Nedrow of New York, Eldon Moss of Iowa, and Edwin Watson of Michigan.

Elections were held for directors for AGA District Three and District Seven.

Edwin Watson, of Hemlock,

Mich., was elected for District Three which includes the states Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky and Michigan.

Linda Madsen, of Temecula, Calif., was elected to the board to represent District Seven, an area that includes the states of Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

The organization is managed by a full-time executive secretary treasurer, a position held by Neil Jensen.

Chairperson of the organization's resolution committee proposed several resolutions to the membership.

Approved was a resolution thanking the Maryland Guernsey Breeders Association for serving as host organization, an honor that coincided with an observation of the Maryland organization's 75th anniversary.

(Turn to Page A19)



The American Guernsey Association board of directors reorganizes after electing two new members to serve. From the left, seated, are Truman Weaver, Linda Madsen, Cline Brubaker, and Clark Vilter. From the left, standing, are Kevin Nedrow, John Morrow, Eldon Moss, and Peter Coon. Missing from the photo is Edwin Waston.

Got Mik?

The HMS Haven farm sign provides a backdrop for, from left, Richard Kaufman, president of the Somerset County Farm Bureau; Richard Mains and Shelva Mains, Cumberland County; and Carol Shaulis, who with busy husband Harold, hosted Somerset County Day at the Farm June 23. The event was sponsored by the Somerset County Farm Bureau.

Somerset County Day Draws 2,500

GAY BROWNLEE

Somerset Co. Correspondent SOMERSET (Somerset Co.) — Some 2,500 visitors descended upon HMS Haven farm, owned by Harold M. and Carol Shaulis, on Sunday, June 23, for the 13th annual Somerset County Day at the Farm.

The event was sponsored by the Somerset County Farm Bureau and coordinated by Jay Shaffer and his wife, Eyvonne.

"I was really pleased with the weather," said Shaffer, a farmer and a minister. "We had it made to order."

The educational event covered information about soil care, animal care, health, and nutrition, and chemical use, crops, and tractor safety.

A number of veterinary doctors readily provided information to visitors and answered their questions. Two vets — D.V.M. David

Welch and D.V.M. Michael Carter from the White Oak Veterinary Clinic — showed how an ultrasound is done on an expectant doe goat.

Upon their registration, each person received a small booklet of coupons redeemable for food samples — lamb, beef, potato chips, cheese, milk, milk punch, and maple syrup-topped ice cream sundae.

(Turn to Page A34)

FFA Introduces New Officers, Executive Secretary

ANDY ANDREWS
Lancaster Farming Staff

UNIVERSITY PARK (Centre Co.) — Ten new state officers recently took on their new FFA responsibilities. At the same time, a new FFA executive secretary was chosen.

Daryl R. Schafer, Muncy, has become the new state FFA executive secretary, filling the position vacated by former secretary Sheila Reiner of Lewistown.

The new Pennsylvania FFA officers include Andrew L. Young, president; Mike Clark, state vice president; Joy Young, eastern region vice president; Kristina Watson, south central vice president; Bobbi Jo Robbins, north central vice president; Elizabeth Hollen-

bach, secretary; Heather Lehman, treasurer; John Ewing, sentinel; Aimee Jo Hauck, reporter; and (Turn to Page A35)

Office Closed July 4

To celebrate the nation's birthday, Lancaster Farming's offices will be closed on Thursday, July 4. Our offices will reopen on Friday, July 5.

Deadlines are as follows:

General News — noon, Wednesday, July 3.

Classified Section C ads — 5
p.m., Tuesday, July 2.
All other classified ads, 9
a.m. Wednesday, July 3.



The Jay Irwin Leadership Awards. From left, the winners are Nichole Meabon and Aaron Ranck. Irwin, who greets the winners, was also honored for his 36 years of service at the Summer Youth Institute sponsored by the Pennsylvania Council of Cooperatives and Penn State in Shippensburg this week. See story page A33.