## Maryland Holstein Convention

ing a term as vice-president. Iager and his wife, Judy, milk one-hundred seventy five cows at their Howard County dairy. Jason Myers, past chairman of the budget and finance committee, will serve as the new vice-president. Myers resides in New Windsor with wife Donna. The secretary-treasurer will once again be Anita Hill, of Emmitsburg. It was noted that Hill has been a great asset to the association.

In other annual business, Marlin Hoff, National Director, discussed innovations at the national level in herd classification participation programs. The six classification options will allow farmers more flexibility in getting their cows enrolled in a classification program. The association was also briefed on H.B. 1411 by Myron Wilhide. The bill would "...create a The bill was supported by the association.

The afternoon program featured guest speaker Mark Varner, Ph.D., University of Maryland extension dairy specialist and associate pro-

Look for a report by Karen Butler on the Maryland Holstein Ladies' Day activities in Section B of next week's issue.

level playing field with all processors regarding the price processors must pay for their milk," according to Wilhide, a dairy farmer from Detour, who is also a member of the Maryland Milk Commission.

fessor of animal sciences. Dr. Varner spoke on trends in the dutch dairy industry, and also shared information on Dairy-L, an electronic informational exchange net-(Turn to Page A24)



Progressive Breeders Registry award winners are, from the left in the back row, Marlin Hoff, Jason Myers, Cindy Savage, Dennis Savage, and Holstein consultants Clarence Stauffer and Tom Dunn. Award winenrs in the front row, from the left, are Charles lager, who is also the new president of the Maryland Holstein Association, Carl Bender, Joe Schwartzbeck, Roger Myers, and Cleland Beltzel.



From the left, newly appointed scholarship committe chairperson is Arthur Johnson show stands with scholarship winners, Laurie Zimmerman, Amy Savage, and Marie Speak, along with Peggy Johnson, co-chair person.



Maryland Holstein Association first place record book winners are, from the left, Sam Muller in the senior boys' catagory; Josh Sanders in the intermediate boys'; Ryan Savage in the junior boys'; Andrea Hood in the junior girls'; Barbara Schenning in the intermediate girls'; and April Hall for the senior girls'.



Maryland Hoistein Association record book award winners in the senior-aged girls' catagory are, from the left, April Hall and Kelly Myers.



Maryland Holstein production and type award winners, from the left, are Harold Smith, Delvin Mast for Philip Beachy and family, Miriam Bell for Miralm and Dwayne Bell, of Manchester, and Wayne Savage, of Savage-Leigh Farm, of Knoxville.



The national distinguished junior contestants from Maryland are, from the left, Christopher Savage for 1994, Kelli Savage for 1995, Shannon Harrison 1995, and Mark lager, for 1994.



Maryland Holstein production and type award winners are, from the left, Gary Derr, New Windsor accepting for himself and Majestic-Vu Farm, Tom Crothers, of Oxford, Brian Ehrhardt, of Ehrhardt Farm Inc., of Baldwin, and Chip Savage, of Savage-Leigh Farm in Knoxville.



Maryland Hoistein Association record book winners in the intermediate aged boys' catagory are, from the left, Josh Sanders and Andrew Covell.