PCC Summer Institute Winners Named

BETH MILLER

Cumberland Co. Correspondent SHIPPENSBURG (Cumberland Co.) — A visit from Pennsylvania Secretary of Agriculture Boyd Wolff and the handing out of many awards were the highlights of the Pennsylvania Council of Cooperatives Summer Institute held at Shippensburg University.

In his speech to those gathered for the PCC institute, Wolff observed that cooperatives are a \$6 billion business in Pennsylvania each year.

"Experiences you gain here, the principle of cooperatives, will stay with you for the rest of your life," Wolff said to the institute participants.

The awards and scholarships granted at the institute went to people from all over the state.

The first-year scholar winner of the Walter Loy Quiz Award was Jamie Graff of Strasburg, a member of the Lancaster Council. The second-year scholar who won the quiz award was Bryn Pavkov of McKean, who is a member of the Erie/Crawford Council.

The boy winner of the Jay Irwin Leadership Award was Jason Barnett of Strasburg, another member of the Lancaster Council. Marci Harnish of Manheim, who also belongs to the Lancaster Council, was the girl winner of the Irwin award. Harnish also was selected as the first-year scholar to win the Viewpoint Award, Linda Hall of State College, a member of the Juniata/Mifflin/Centre Council, was chosen as the second-year winner of that award.

The scholars chosen by the Atlantic Dairy Cooperative to be sponsored to the 1993 National Institute of Cooperative Education from July 26 to 29 in Cincinnati, Ohio, included Karen Heilinger of Newmanstown and Jason Krall of Lebanon, members of the Lebanon/Dauphin Council.

The other scholars chosen by Atlantic to attend the Ohio event were Brent England of Williamsburg, a member of the South Central Council; Scott Nolt of Lebanon, another member of the Lebanon/Dauphin Council, and Elizabeth Walton of Carlisle, a member of the Cumberland/Perry Council.

The alternates who would go to NICE if any of the other Atlantic scholars cannot attend were Wade Esbenshade of New Holland, a Lancaster Council member, and Coleen Mowrey of Reynoldsville, a member of the Western Region Council.

The first-year scholars that the PCC will sponsor on trips to NICE are Grant Campbell of Lykens, a member of the Lebanon/Dauphin Council; Jamie Graff; Kelli Zelger



Jason Barnet of Strasburg, Lancaster Council, was the winner of the Jay Irwin Leadership Award. Shelly Oglive was the presenter of the award.





Winners of scholarships to attend the 1993 National Institute of Cooperative Education are as follows (first row - left-right) Elizabeth Walton, Kelli Zeigler, Linda Hall, Marci Harnish, Darrei Weaver and Kelly Burns. Second Row (left-right) Jamie Graff, Jason Krail, Jason Barnett, Crystal Miller, Brent England, Scott Nolt and Grant Campbell.

of Newville, a member of the Cumberland/Perry Council; Marci Harnish; and Darrel Weaver of East Earl, a member of the Lancaster Council.

The second-year scholars who will be sponsored to go to NICE by the PCC are Jason Barnett, Linda Hall and Crystall Miller of Lititz.

Also being sponsored by the PCC to NICE is Kelly Burns of the New Jersey Cooperative.

The Hal Doran Award for dedication, commitment, and caring attitude was given to teacher Jack Rosell of Allentown, N.J.

Stu Lamb was presented a Nittany Lion statue by Jay Irwin in recognition of Lamb's 20 years of service to PCC as an advisor to the group's Minico mini coop, which has 95 members this year.

The awards and NICE sponsorships marked the climax of the PCC conference.

The event also included activities such as special guest speakers, Minico meetings, a newspaper program, a news team, a chorus and a wake up/good night team. There was also a picnic, a square dance, an institute pursuit and a Minico dance.

The aim of all these activities was to educate young people about coop programs so those programs will be guaranteed to keep going in the future.

Local Officers Attend National YF Meeting

KANSAS CITY, MO-Garry

1994, in Springfield, MO. While the local farmers had no trouble flying out of Kansas City.

an advisor.

the flooding in the mid-West did cause the cancellation of several social events.

102 Animals Exhibited

Irwin in recognition of Lamb's 20 years of service to PCC as



Marci Harnish of Manheim, Lancaster Council, was the winner of the Jay Irwin Leedership Award. The award was presented by Michael Comman. Marrer, public relations director for the Pennsylvania Young Farmer Educational Association reports that he and three other state officers have just returned from the national young farmer summer business meeting in Kansas City. The other attending officers were James Berry, Jr., president; Duane Kling, past president, and Dale Herr, secretary.

At the national meeting, business related to the national association and its budgets were conducted. Maurer reported that the next two National Young Farmer Institutes will be as follows: December 8 to 11, 1993, in Louisville, KY, and December 11 to 14. (Continued from Page A20)

Following are the class winners in first to third sequence:

HEIFERS

Class 1: Amanda Schmuck, Joey Rohrbaugh, Dave Lafferty.

Class 2. Jason Michael, Jason Rohrbaugh, Nick Faber.

Class 3: Jerry Ferko, Joey Rohrbaugh, Jason Knotts.

Class 4: Andy Campbell, Jill Brant, Paul Banif.

Class 5: Andy Campbell, Jason Michael, Enc Berkheimer.

Heifer grand champion: Andy Campbell; reserve - Jason Michael STEERS

Class 1: David Cambruzzi, Brian Waydo, Nicole Schachte.

Class 2: Shanna Cambruzzi, Johnathan Guindon, David Livengood.

Class 3: Bryson Michael, Heather Fuls, Lindsey Schmuck.

Div. champion: Bryson Michael; reserve: Heather Fuls.

Class 4: Vicky King, Bryson Michael, Ro-

bert Faber.

Class 5: David Cambruzzi, Amanda Schmuck, Jill Brant.

Class 6: Ryan Luellen, Jill Brant, Christy Griffith.

Div. champion: Ryan Luellen; reserve. David Cambruzzi.

Class 7: Troy Rieboldt, Katie Logan, Travis Yonts.

Class 8: Angle Livengood, Nick Faber. Steve Schmuck.

Class 9: Scott Mullinix, Jerry Ferko, Jason Roberts.

Div. champion: Troy Rieboldt; reserve' Scott Mullinix.

Class 10: Justin Fuls, Tim Bishop, Eric Berkheimer.

Class 11: Jason Knotts, Johnathan Faber, Tracy Fitzaimmons,

Tracy Fitzsimmons. Class 12: Nathan Claycomb, Brett Fogle, Kevin Stahl.

Div. champion: Justin Fuls; reserve: Nathan Claycomb.

Co. exhibitor: Justin Fuis, Angle Livengood, Heather Fuis.

Club Call sale: Tim Bishop, Jason Knotts, Jesse Brant.