B16-Lancaster Farming, Saturday, April 17, 1993

Cloister FFA Holds Banquet

Cloister FFA Presents Awards

Sixty Cloister FFA Chapter members from the Ephrata High School were awarded with high merits at the 32nd annual FFA banquet held at the Mt. Airy Fire Hall recently.

Those receiving Foundation awards were Jeffrey Bollinger, livestock production; Courtney Myers, public speaking; Chad Kurtz, swine procution; Randy Sauder, poultry production; Jerry Bollinger, ag sales and service; Matthew Wenger, placement in agriculture; Scott Martin, beef production; Marvin Martin, beef production; Mark Gerhart and Matthew Miller, fruit and vegetable production; Kevin Martin, special animal production, Scott Garman, turf and landscaping; and Kevin Sauder, ag mechanics.

Special Star awards were given to Anne Mielnik and Seth Burkholder for Star Greenhand: Andrew Bollinger, Star Chapter Farmer; Ginny Nolt, Star Chapter Agribusinessman; Chad Burkholder, Star Red Rose Agribusinessman: and Kevin Hurst, Star Red Rose Farmer.

Achievement awards went to Tom Oberholtzer, Anne Mielnik, Lewis Horning, Doug Groff, Seth Burkholder, Jared Rottmund, and Jesse Wenrich for dairy foods.

Tractor driving awards went to Andy Bollinger and Marvin Martin. The Salesmanship Award went to Ginny Nolt. Scott Garman and Chad Burkholder were awarded the small gasoline awards. Dairy judging awards went to Lewis Horning, Marvin Martin, Kevin Hurst, Kevin Martin, Dervin Lehman, Scott Garman, and Jeffrey Bollinger. Wildlife awards went to Jesse Wenrich, Ralph Heiser, Dean Varner, Chue Yang, Josh Shirk, Jessee Showalter, Matthew Wenger, Adman Strunk, Ed McKinney, and Mike Lefever.

Horse Judging Award went to Heather Good, Anne Mielnik, and Scott Martin. The Farm Business Management Award went to Andrew Bollinger and Courtney Myers.

County awards were also given for project books. Those receiving awards were Courtney Myers and Jeffrey Bollinger, gold; Kevin Hurst, Ginny Nolt, silver; and Randy Sauder, Chad Burkholder, Scott Garman, Duane Bollinger, Jerry Bollinger, Scott Martin, and Nelson Bollinger, bronze.

State project book awards went to Courtney Myers and Ginny Nolt, gold; Jeffrey Bollinger and Courtney Myers, silver; and Jeffrey Bollinger, Jerry Bollinger, Nelson Bollinger, Kevin Hurst, and Ginny Nolt, bronze.



Foundation awards were given to Scott Martin, Courtney Myers, Matthew Wenger, Chad Kurtz, Mark Gehart and Kevin Martin at the Ciolster FFA banquet. Also to Randy Sauder, Marvin Martin, Scott Garman, Kevin Sauder, Jerry Bollinger, Jeffrey Bollinger, and Matt Miller. Photo by Carol Stark, Ephrata Review



One of the highest awards given for FFA students is the Star Award. Receiving this award was Anne Mieinik, Seth Burkholder for Greenhand; Chad Burkholder receiving the Star Red Rose Agribusinessman; Ginny Nolt, Star Chapter Agribusinessman: Kevin Hurst, Star Red Rose Farmer; and Andy Bollinger, Star Chapter Farmer. Photo by Carol Stark, Ephrata Review

Cedar Crest FFA Holds Parent-Member Banquet

LEBANON (Lebanon Co.) ---Recently, Cedar Crest FFA held its 28th annual parent-member banquet at the Cedar Crest Middle School with more than 200 in attendance.

Scott Nolt, chapter president, opened the banquet at 7 p.m. The address of welcome was presented by Paul Lane. Chris Kepley, chapter chaplain, gave the invocation. Jason Krall, chapter vice president, introduced the many guests.

Matthew Sensenig and Dan Atkins gave out the Certificates of Appreciation. Certificates were given to Steve Miller; Ed Arnold, Wen-Crest farms; and Jim Berry. Guest speaker was State FFA Secretary Jacy Clugston. Her speech dealt with the topic "There Ain't No Free Lunch.'

Honorary chapter degree plaques were presented by the freshman class to Ann Fackler and Elvin Gingrich.

Harvey Smith, retired area consultant, presented the chapter's Keystone Degree winner, Jason Krall, with the Keystone pin. Andy Martin and Jamie Risser showed the year in review slides.

Dr. John Menser, Cornwall Lebanon School District superintendant, gave remarks from the administration.

Awards were presented by Harold Berkheiser, chapter advisor. The winners were as follows:

1993 CEDAR CREST FFA BANQUET AWARDS Foundation Awards

Floriculture - Jamie Risser, Stacy Krall

Dairy Production - Scott Nolt. Jason Krall, Jeff Zimmerman

Cereal Grain Production - Scott Nolt, Jason Krall

- Poulty Matt Sensenig Ag Mechanics - Matt Sensenig,
- Craig Carpenter
- Soil & Water Management -Jason Hess
- Swine Production Jacob Frazier
- Horse Proficiency Chris Kepley
- Beef Production Paul Lane Prepared Public Speaking -Paul Lane
- Ag Sales & Service Paul Lane, Jamie Murray
- Diversified Livestock Andy

Martin, Dan Atkins

- Agricultural Processing Dan Atkins, Jon Harnish
- Forestry Doug Miller

Wildlife Management - Doug Miller, Dan Carpenter, Tim Boyer, Ed Showers

Home Improvement - Ed Showers

- Outdoor Recreation Tim Pavlesich
 - **Record Book Contest**

Scott Nolt - 2 - 1st blue county, 1 - gold state pin, 1 silver; Dan Atkins - 1st blue county, silver state pin; Matt Sensenig - 1st blue county, 3rd blue county, 2-silver state; Jason Krall - 2nd & 5th red county, 2-silver state pins; Jamie Wiles - 2nd red county, silver state pin; Chris Kepley - 3rd white & 8th white county, silver state pin; Kris Shultz - 4th red county, silver state pin; Paul Lane - 1st blue county; Jason Hess - 1st blue county; Ed Showers - 2nd red county; Craig Carpenter - 2nd red county; Doug Miller - 3rd red county; Brian Fasnacht - 3rd red county; Tim Pavlesich - 3rd white county; Doug Weltmer - 4th white county; Stacy Krall - 6th white county.

Paul Lane - 1st place county FFA speech contest; Paul Lane - 1st place county salesmanship; Nathan Seyfert - 1st place county interview contest; Jon Harnish -1st place county Quiz Contest: Jamie Risser - county quiz contest; Andy Martin - county quiz contest; Dan Atkins - 1st place county farm management contest.

Bologna Sale Trophies Winners included Jamie Risser, Andy Martin, Paul Lane, Scott Nolt, Jon Harnish, Jacob Frazier, Jeff Zimmerman, and Dan Atkins. **Citrus Sale Trophies**

Winners were Jason Krall, Jamie Risser, Scott Nolt, Doug Miller, Andy Martin, Jeff Zimmerman, Dan Atkins, and Jon Harnish.

Scholarship Pins

Pins were awarded to Jeff Zimmerman, Andy Martin, Scott Nolt,



Andy Martin receives the



From left, Scott Nolt and Matt Sensenig receive the Star Farmer and Star Agribusinessman award.

Speciality Awards

Dan Atkins - Scrapbook 4th State Pin; Jason Krall - Scrapbook 4th State Pin; Scott Nolt - Scrapbook 4th State Pin; Kris Shultz -Scrapbook 4th State Pin; Jason Hess - Scrapbook 4th State Pin; Chris Kepley - Scrapbook 4th State Pin; Jamie Murray - Scrapbook; Nathan Seyfert - Scrapbook 4th State Pin; Matt Sensenig - 1st place area Ag Mechanics Contest; Matt Sensenig - 1st place county Small Gas Engine Contest Team; Matt Sensenig, Kevin Putt, Jason Krall, Stacy Krall, and Jamie Crest Banquet. Risser.

Parliamentary Procedure Pins

Pins went out to Dan Atkins, Matt Sensenig, Paul Lane, Jamie Murray, Jason Krall, Jason Hess. Scott Nolt, and Nathan Seyfert. **Chapter Trophies**

Beef Production - Paul Lane; Corn Production - Scott Nolt; Dairy Production - Scott Nolt; Poultry - Matt Sensenig; Agricultural Mechanics - Matt Sensenig; Swine Production - Jacob Frazier; Outstanding Stockman - Dan Atkins.

Certificates of Appreciation Mr. Ed Arnold Mr. Jim Berry Mr. Steve Miller Wen-Crest Farms

star Greenhand at the Cedar



Jason Krall receives the DeKalb and the Lisa M. Houser Memorial Award.