Lancaster farming. (Lancaster, Pa., etc.) 1955-current, May 19, 1984, Image 58

Below is the OCR text representation for this newspapers page. It is also available as plain text as well as XML.

    118—Lancaster Farming, Saturday, May 19,1984
180 parents and friends attended
the Hans Herr Chapter’s annual
FFA banquet and awards
ceremony on the evening of
Wednesday, May 9.
Headlining the list of award
recipients were the chapter’s three
Stars. This year’s Star
Agribusinesswoman was Debra
Althouse, also the winner of the
DeKalb Award.
Robin, Gore was named Star
Greenhand, and Dawn Andrews
received Star Farmer honors.
Other foundation award winners
included; Deb Lowe Powers,
floriculture; Shirl Lehman,
greenhouse and crop production;
Sandy Rice, agricultural sales and
service; Douglas Reach, turf and
landscape management; Mark
Troutman, nursery operations.
Held at the Willow Street
Vocational-Technical School, the
event featured state FFA
president, Carolyn Witmer, as
guest speaker. A member of
Garden Spot High School’s
Grassland Chapter, Ms. Witmer
outlined three necessary com
ponents for attaining success. The
FFA leader stressed the im
portance of a positive attitude, the
establishment of goals, and a firm
commitment to achieving those
Witmer called on fellow FFA
members to set high personal
standards, and cautioned that
goals should be realistic.
A total of 34 members received
their Chapter Farmer Degrees.
They were: Debbie Althouse,
Dawn Andrews, Londa Bleich,
Karen Frank, Rachel Fuey, Jodi
Henry, Denise Holland, Stacy
Kauffman, Kristine Kirchoff, Barb
Kudia, Gary Lapp, Kevin Leed,
Barb Leeds, Shirl Lehman, Jackie
Martin, Greg McCardell, Lisa
McMullen, Geneen Mellott, Wendy
Miller, Felicia Minnick, Yvonne
Myers, Douglas Reach, Sandy
Rice, Karen Shaeffer, Bob Shaffer,
Tina Sides, Susan Smith, Candy
Berks County FFA honors
outstanding members
Staff Correspondent
KUTZTOWN - Berks County
FFA’ers honored their outstanding
future farmers recently at their
annual awards banquet at the
Kutztown Grange Hall, Kutztown,
“The FFA members of Berks
County are active, are par
ticipating, and are achieving,”
stated Harvey Smith, area
vocational consultant. Smith
pointed out the table filled with
trophies and plaques earned by
many of the students throughout
this past year.
“You only accomplish in
proportion to what you attempt,”
Ron Martin, Eastern Regional vice
president, told the students. And,
Berks County FFA’ers are ac
complishing more by attempting
more according to many of the
chapter advisors.
The star awards went to students
from the Oley and Twin Valley
chapters. County Star
Agribusinessmen plaque went to
Mike Spayd, Oley. The County Star
Farmer plaque was earned by
Kevin Griest, Twin Valley. Gnest
also won county honors in ex
temporaneous public speaking and
the area engines contest. Their
awards were presented by Harvey
Smith, area vocational consultant.
Charles Suloff, manager of
Farm Credit, was on hand to
present the regional and county
Production Credit records awards.
Herr FFA honors outstanding members
Three stars of Hans Herr
Three industrious young ladies were named stars of Willow
Street Vocational-Technical School's Hans Herr FFA Chapter
during award ceremonies following the annual banquet on
May 9.
Pictured receiving their awards were, (clockwise from
upper left) Debra Althouse, Star agribusinesswoman; Dawn
Andrews, star farmer; Robin Gore, star greenhand. Miss
Althouse was also the recipient of the DeKalb Award.
Shown making the presentations is chapter advisor, James
Kerr Jr., the school's horticulture instructor.
Stevens, Mark Troutman, Andrea with the Honorary Chapter Far-
Vaughn, Kiet Vuong, Barb Work, mer Degree in recognition of their
Michelle Yohe, and'Trudi Zook. service to the Hans Herr Chapter:
Receiving this year’s Greenhand Barry Frey of Frey’s Evergreen
Award were: Michael Clark, Stacy Plantation; Steve Gallion,
Drennen, Jessica Eckman, manager of Stauffers of Kissel
Whitney Eckman, Patti Frey, Hill; Jeffrey Hall, superintendent
Karen Fry, Tina Gentzler, Robin of the Host Farm Resort’s golf
Gore, Debbie High, Kelly Jum- course.
beUck, Leslie Lowe, April Miller, Mrs. Nancy Weiss, Willow Street
andßoseßottmund. Vo-Tech’s cafeteria dietition, was
The following local business also honored with the Honorary
representatives were presented Chapter Farmer Degree.
The regional honors were won by
Kirk Fisher, Oley.
“The Fishers are tough on a
buck,” Suloff stated about a family
he is well-acquainted with. “I know
he’s going to treat the money well
and I can understand how he won
it,” Suloff stated about Kirk and
the records contest. Kirk also
placed first in the forage division
of the hay and grains county
The Production Credit record
award for Berks County was won
by Clark Sattazahn, Tulpehocken
FFA. Clark also won first place in
the com yield division of the
county hay and grains contest.
The Washington Scholarship
award was again presented to “a
very deserving student,” ac
cording to Ronald Beaton, who
presented the award on behalf of
its sponsor, the Bank of Penn
sylvania. Won by Rod Stoltzfus,
Twin Valley FFA, the $275
scholarship was given to recognize
leadership and participation. Rod
is the president of his chapter.
Honorary membership was
bestowed on Chuch Wyatt, who
mdeed area contests, Christine
Williams, FFA advisor, Owen
Stoudt, Reading Eagle
photographer, and Karen
Freeman, Ag agent. Certificates of
appreciation were given to; Ann
Sabncus, Lyn Van Tassel, William
Zollers, Henry Gruber, David
Henry, and Robin Phillips. The vo-
(Turn to Page B 19)
The Washington Scholarship award was earned by Rod Stolblus, Twin Valley, and
■esei 'to him Ronald of - "ie isor.
The Production credit Awards were presented to Kirk Fisher, Oley, winner of the
regional award and Clark Sattazahn, Tglpehocken, winner of the Berks County award.
They were presented by Chuck Suloff, manager.
J" ‘r^? 0 "- *»“”8 Mr. Kerr 1„ the
bouauet of roses to Mrs James P resentation of awards was Ronald
bouquet ot roses to Mrs. James Y oder. The t faculty members
KeS’jr'lL horticil act as ccadvisors to JnansHerr
Sector h 1 hortlCUlture Chapter, numbering 87 members.
♦ 5