Montgomery Co. FFA honors members

LIMERICK - On Wednesday, March 21, the Western Montgomery County Future Farmers of America held its annual parent/member banquet.

Thirty FFA members and their parents attended the banquet.

Superintendents and school board members from the Sping-Ford, Upper Perkiomen and Pottsgrove School Districts were also present.

After a delicious family-style ham and roast beef dinner, the evening's special guest speaker, Mr. Dave Blank, Pennsylvania State Association of FFA treasurer from Parkesburg spoke about the number of opportunities available to the FFA members. He later

stressed the importance of capturing those opportunities and using them to the best advantage. Later in the evening vocational

Agriculture teacher, Mr. Roger Michelone, Horticulture/Landscaping teacher, Mr. Rovert Mutschler, and Edward Fabian, a friend of the FFA, presented the annual Chapter awards.

Award winners were:

From Pottsgrove High School: Mark Lucarelli, Proficiency Award for Turf and Landscape Management; John Gresko, Proficiency Award for Fruit and Vegetable Production; Matthew Ryan, Most Improved award; and Wayne Cooper, FFA Achievement



Winners of Landscape and Horticulture awards from left to right are Dave Conrad. Andy Renninger, Ed Solt, Chet Buchkawski, Dave Deitrich, Janet Honsleman, Karen Lynn and Charles McMillen.

Award for Dependability. From Upper Perkiomen High School: David Conrad, Proficiency



Winners from the Agriculture Class from left to right are Ronald Longacre, Jeff Stauffer. Mike Thees, Bob Boyer, Todd Getty, Paul Roy, Don Ewald, Erik Rothenberger, and Joe McGuigan.

Award for Turf and Landscape Management; Cindy Hovanec, Most Improved Award; Tina Stoudt, Most Improved Award; Ronald Longacre, Star Chapter Farmer Award and Proficiency Award in Dairy Production; Erik Rothenberger, Proficiency Award for Swine Production; Robert Boyer, Proficiency Award for Diversified Livestock Production; Jeffrey Stauffer, Proficiency Award for Public Speaking; Joseph Fronheiser, Outstanding Senior in Landscapring Award; Janet Hanselman, Outstanding Senior in Horticulture; Andy Renninger, Proficiency Award for Nursery Production; Charles McMillen, Distinguished Senior Award for working in the Horticulture shop and weekends at the school; Karen Lynn, Star Green Thumb Award; Dave Dietrick, Stor Rising Sun Award.

From Spring-Ford High School: Chest Buchkowski, Proficiency Award for Soil and Water Management; Mike . Thees, Proficiency Award for Fish and Wildlife Management; and Dan Ewald, FFA Achievement Award for dependability.

From St. Plus High School: Joseph McGugan, Proficiency Award for Swine Production; and Paul Roy, Proficiency Award for Agricultural Mechanics.

From North Penn High School: Todd Getty, Proficiency Award for Diversified Livestock Production.

Retiring officers who received plaques were: Jeffrey Stauffer, president; Joseph McGuigan, vicepresident; Troy Mest, treasurer; Ronald Longacre, reporter; Michael Bell, chaplain, Ed Solt, sentinel; and Michael Thees, parliamentarian.

700

741-Air Cooled Diesel

