Stars Born in Manheim FFA

BY KIMBERLY HERR MANHEIM — Four new stars

were born last Friday night. They have nothing to do with Hollywood, and astronomy is not their field. Instead, these new stars have their roots in agriculture.

They are the Star Greenhand, the Star Chapter Farmer, the Star Agribusinessman and the Star Farmer named during the Manheim Central FFA Parent-Member banquet, held at the Ruhl's Grove United Methodist Church, Manheim.

Leon Heisey, son of Mrs. Miriam Heisey, Manheim R6, captured the Star Greenhand honor. The Star Chapter Farmer went to Jeannie Ginder, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Ginder, Elizabethtown R3. The Star Farmer was awarded to Jan Waltz, son of Mr. and Mrs. Ardith Waltz, Manheim; and the Star Agribusinessman went to Ken Nolt, son of Mrs. Linda Nolt, Manheim R1. The American Farmer award, which FFA President Kevin Moyer described as "a coveted degree received only by the best of the best," went to Glenn Shenk, son of Mr. and Mrs. Glenn Shenk, Lititz.

Kevin Moyer not only handed out awards, he also received them. He received the Lancaster County Banker's Award, a Keystone Degree and a Foundation award for public speaking.

Ken Nolt received the Production Credit Award for his excellent record keeping.

The following Foundation awards were also distributed to those students that excelled in certain fields:

Duane Shelly, fish and wildlife management; Stacey Shenk, placement in ag production; Gary Wiegand, sales and or service; Ken Hawkins, agricultural processing; Charles Greenly, fruit and vegetable production; Neal Benedict, diversified livestock

production

Mark Metzler, home and farmstead improvement; Chad Hollinger, agricultural mechanics; Randy Gibble, beef production; Dave Wells, dairy production; Bryan Balmer, crop production; Jay Gruber, soil and water management; Bryan Balmer, extemporaneous public speaking; Matt Pflieger, swine production; and Steve Breneman, poultry production.

Receiving Keystone Degrees were: Kevin Moyer, Duane Shelly, Stacey Shenk, Dave Wells and Gerald Wenger.

Fifteen students received their first-year Greenhand awards and 19 received their Chapter Farmer titles. Seven received Red Rose Degrees.

Honorary Chapter Farmer honors went to Ardith and Nancy Waltz, Jane Balmer and Robert Gibble. Citation Awards, given in



Kevin Moyer, past president of the Manheim FFA, passes the presidential gavel on to Ken Nolt, the new president, during Friday's FFA parent-member banquet.

recognition of the support given to FFA went to G and G Agway, Bomberger's Store and Pioneer Seed Company.

In addition to awards, the new officers for 1984-85 were announced. They are as follows: President, Ken Nolt; Vice President, Mark Metzler; Secretary, Rhonda Gibble; Treasurer, Bryan Balmer; REporter, Jeannie Ginder; Sentinel, Matt Pflieger; Chaplain, Leon Heisey, Historian Ken Hawkins; Corresponding Secretary, Jay Gruber; Chapter Sweetheart, Stef Shenenberger.

The program for the evening was presented by the Crestman Quartet, who entertained the parents, members and guests with some gospel music.

"You've got a big job ahead of you because you are going to be feeding the nation," one of the Quartet members told the FFA members.





The much coveted star awards and the American Farmer award were given during Friday's banquet. Receiving those awards are Ken Nolt, Star Agribusinessman; Jan Waltz, Star Farmer; and Glenn Shenk, American Farmer.

Also receiving star honors are Jeannie Ginder, Star Chapter Farmer and Leon Heisey, Star Greenhand.

Octorara Young Farmers Presents Yearly Awards

BY LAURA ENGLAND

ATGLEN — The Octorara Young Farmers Association finished off a busy 1983, filled with educational seminars, social functions and community activities, with its 15th annual awards dinner Monday night.

President Leon Curtz said that 1983 activities were well attended. Among the activities were dairy and forage seminars, a tillage meeting, a shop safety workshop, farm tours and participation in the Pa. Food Exposition held in Philadelphia.

In addition, the Octorara Young Farmers had a successful year in dairy, hay and corn production, advisor Ivan Stauffer reported. Stauffer, in charge of calculating the yields and determining award winners, presented trophies to the top producers in high hay, haylage, high herd, high cow, silage and corn grain categories.

Melvin Stoltzfus, R1 Cochranville, was first place winner in the high hay contest. Second went to Nelson Stoltzfus, R1 Parkes, and third to William Stoltzfus, R1 Atglen. Tim Kauffman, R1 Atglen, capped the top award in haylage production, while Kenneth Umble, R1 Atglen, was second and Arthur Hershey, R1 Cochranville, was third.

High herd fat honors went to

Melvin Stoltzfus, owner of Melwood Farms. Stoltzfus' 36 cows averaged 22,959 pounds of milk with 883 pounds of fat. Kenneth Umble was second with 19,140 pounds of milk and 725 pounds of fat on 59 cows. John Brubaker, R1 Christiana, brought his 59 cows into third place with 21,216 pounds of milk and 722 pounds of fat.

Stoltzfus again displayed his farming ability by taking first in the high cow fat contest. Sunlight

produced 32,753 pounds of milk at a 3.7 percent butterfat test. Her total fat production was 1,212 pounds

Other high cow honors, from second to fifth place, went to: John Brubaker, Matty produced 27,423 pounds of milk with 4.4 percent fat; Tim Kauffman, Lacy produced 25,642 pounds of milk with 4.1 percent fat, Kenneth Umble, Rodella produced 29,599 pounds of milk with 3.5 percent fat; and William Stoltzfus, Rainbow produced 24,496 pounds of milk with 4.2 percent fat

In the corn grain contest, Glen Engle, R1 Cochranville, was the top producer with a yield of 232 bushels. Melvin Stoltzfus was second with 198, William Stoltzfus, third, with 191, Arthur Hershey, fourth, with 182, and Breck-A-Dee Farms, R1 Oxford, fifth, with 171 bushels.

(Turn to Page B13)





Individual cow and herd awards are presented to, from left, Melvin Stoltzfus, first in both high herd and high cows; Tim Kauffman, third high cow; John Brubaker, second high cow and third high herd; William Stoltzfus, fifth high cow; and Kenneth Umble, second high herd and fourth high cow.

Newly elected officers of the Octorara Young Farmers are, from left, Steve Kauffman, secretary; John Brubaker, president; Larry Hershey, treasurer; Kenneth Umble, vice president; and Melvin Stoltzfus, public relations.