Manheim FFA holds its annual banquet

MANHEIM - The Manheim Chapter of the Future Farmers of America held its annual banquet on Friday, March 11 with local businesses, who have supported the FFA, and many vo-ag members, receiving awards for their support and accomplishments.

Jeannie Ginder as Star Greenhand, led the group of firstyear degree recipients, including Nelson Fahnestock, Eric Frederick, Ralph Gemberling, Greg Kerdeman, Ken Latsha, Tom Little, Brian Martin, Randy Miller, Darvin Moyer, Kerry Myer, Phil Myers, Chad Rohrer, Don Yeagley, Steve Breneman, Gene Berlin, Roger George, Neal Benedict, Mike Cassel, Dave Eckert. Also Dale Hess, Ray Myers, Kevin Beall, Ralph Breaud, Jay Gruber, Jeff Herr, Elmer High, Jerry Martin, Bryan Balmer, and Mike Snyder.

Chapter Star Farmer Jan Waltz was accompanied in the Chapter Farmer Degree group of Jeff Bode, John Drasch, Doug Ebersole, Ken Hawkins, Chad Hollinger, John Hornberger, Randy Kreiser, Mark Metzler, Ken Nolt, Matt Pflieger, Gary Thornton, and Russ Zellers.

This year's Red Rose Degree

recipients were Darvin Myer, Randy Gibble, Brian Lowe, Stacey Shenk, Gary Wiegand, Gerald Wenger, Charles Greenly, Duane Shelly, and Kevin Moyer was the Star Agribusinessman and Dave Wells was Star Farmer.

Receiving Keystone Farmer Degrees were Gail Ginder, Mike Pflieger, Ed Sensenich, and Vernon Heisey. Stephen Hershey received the American Farmer Degree.

Honorary Chapter Farmers went to Dean Ziegler for letting the FFA use his truck for hauling the sweet corn crop; Nelson C. Groff for letting the FFA use his land for their sweet corn crop, and Charles Bechdel Jr., agriculture teacher. Citation Awards went to local businesses in honor of their support of Chapter activities, which included the Lancaster County Agricultural Land Preserve Board for promoting the preservation of farm land; Windward Farms for giving scrap metal to raise funds for the chapter; and Miller's Taxidermy for providing wildlife mounts for the window exhibit.

Foundation award winners included Gerald Wenger, Dairy Production; Dave Wells, Production; Dave Agriculture Production; Darvin

Myer, Swine Production; Ed Sensenich, Agricultural Mechanics; Randy Kreiser, Home and Farmstead Improvement; Ken Nolt, Poultry Production; Russ Zellers, Fish and Wildlife Management; Ken Hawkins, Beef Production; Gail Ginder, Extemporaneous Speaking; Also Jan Waltz, Chapter Star Farmer; Chad Hollinger, Sheep Production; Kevin Moyer, Agribusinessman; Jay Gruber, Fruit and or Vegetable Production; Greg Kerdeman, Public Speaking; John Hornberger, Outdoor Recreation; Mark Metzler, Soil and Water Management; Randy Gibble, Diversified Livestock Production; Gary Wiegand, Agricultural Electrification; Vernon Heisey, Agricultural Processing; Jeannie Ginder, Star Greenhand; Duane Shelly, Crop Production; Mike Pflieger, Agricultural Sales and or Service: and Gail Ginder, Bankers Award.

Recognized for attaining the honor roll were Dave Wells, Nelson Fahnestock, Greg Kerdeman, Ralph Gemberling, Mike Pflieger, Kerry Myer, Vernon Heisey, Jeannie Ginder, Jeff Herr, John Hornberger, Jan Waltz, Gail Ginder, Ed Sensenich, Kevin Moyer, Darvin Myer, Duane Shelly, Brian Lowe, Mark Metzler, and Ken Nolt.

The new officers of the Manheim FFA Chapter for the 1983-84 school year are:

President: Kevin Mover, son of Mr. and Mrs. Burnell Moyer, R7 Manheim.

Vice President: Jan Waltz, son of Mr. and Mrs. Art Waltz, R6 Manheim.

Secretary: Jeannie Ginder, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Ginder, R3 Elizabethtown.

Treasurer: Duane Shelly, son of Mr. and Mrs. Mervin Shelly, R6

Reporter: Ken Nolt, son of Mrs. Linda Nolt, R1 Manheim.

Sentinel: Bryan Balmer, son of Mrs. Jane Balmer, R2 Mt. Joy. Chaplain: Stacey Shenk, son of

Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Shenk, R3 Elizabethtown.

Historian: John Hornberger, son

of Mr. and Mrs. John Hornberger, R4 Manheim.

Corresponding Secretary: Russ Zellers, son of Mr. and Mrs. Rufus Zellers, R3 Manheim.

Chapter Sweetheart: Becky Lefever, daughter of Mrs. Titus Lefever, R4 Manheim



Honored by the Manheim FFA for their continuing efforts on behalf of farmland preservation are Amos Funk, left, president of the Lancaster County Agricultural Preserve Board and Jim Huber, County Commissioner, right. Mike



Keystone Degree honorees from Manheim FFA include, from the left. Vernon Heisey, Gail Ginder, Edward Sensenich and Mike Pflieger.

Jeannie Ginder is Star Greenhand and Jan Waltz is Chapter Star Farmer from Manheim FFA.

Solanco FFA honors 'stars,' other award winners

By Melissa Hess

QUARRYVILLE - State FFA President Michael Dillard spoke at Solanco's annual FFA Banquet and Awards Program on Thursday, March 10, attended by 270 members, parents and guests. Highlighting the program were the four star chapter member awards, Foundation awards and corn

went to Chapter president Ken Miller, Jr. The award is sponsored serves as County sentinel.

by Lancaster Bone Fertilizer, Inc. of Quarryville. Among other awards, Ken received the Ross H. Rohrer & Son Dairy Award. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Miller, Ri Christiana, and also Keystone Degrees were Star Keystone Farmer Award Ewaka, Ken Scott, Jim Strawser,

Michael Dillard, State FFA president, addresses Solanco . FFA'ers at banquet.

and Brian Trimble.

Star Red Rose Farmer is Jamie Frey, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ernie Frey, R2 Quarryville. In previous years, Jamie has been Solanco Star Greenhand and Star Chapter Farmer and presently serves as Chapter secretary. Her FFA projects include greenhouse production, steer and corn.

Also honored with Red Degrees were Bruce Cantey, Thomas Guhl, William Rhine, Frank Towner and Mark Welk.

Kris Esbenshade was named Star Chapter Farmer. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Esbenshade, R2 Quarryville. Her projects include dairy calves and steer and she serves as Chapter reporter. Chapter degrees went ot 17 second-year members who completed .the degree requirements.

Star Greenhand for 1982-83 was James Shank, son of Mr. and Mrs. James Shank Jr., R4 Quarryville. He was the high fruit salesman in the freshman class. The Greenhand Degree went to 37 firstyear members.

Douglas Hershberger was honored for receiving a 1982 American Farmer Degree. He formerly served as State FFA president. His brother Dan received the degree in 1981. They are the sons of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Hershberger, R4 Quarryville. In the past five years, six Solanco FFA members have received the national American Farmer Degree.



Doug Hershberger, past state president and Solanco FFA member, left, receives plaque for attaining American Degree from Mike Pfautz, Cloister Chapter, State Eastern Regional Vice President.

Foundation awards were presented to Steve Phipps, Agricultural Mechanics; Thomas Herr, Beef Production; Kris Esbenshade, Dairy Production; Fritz Frey, Livestock Production; Ken Miller, Public Speaking and Crop Production; Frank Towner, Soil and Water Management; and Michelle Zink, Swine Production.

Honorary Chapter Farmer Degree was presented to James Kiscaden, principal of Solanco High School, for his dedication to the FFA program.

Other awards presented at the banquet were: Steve Aument, Lancaster County Bankers Award: Dale Milburn, Henry Wenger Life Insurance Award; Jim Strawser, Farm Women No. 20 Award; Ken Miller, Powl's Feed Service Corn Silage Award; A.L. Herr & Bros., Inc. Corn Grain Awards: 1st -Brian Trimble, 2nd - Ken Miller, and 3rd - Fritz Frey.

Awards were presented by Solanco FFA advisors; Ronald Althoff, Ms. MeeCee Baker, and Mark Wilde.