Pennfield honors 76 employees for service



20 to 35-year employees: front row, Cleve Hastings, left, and John Snyder; back row from left, Floyd Schell, Al Wiest and Dick Rudisill.



15 and 20-year employees: front row from left, Curvin Fetrow, Harry Thompson, Vince Kuhns and Dick Hobday; back row from left, Reuben Ruppert, Bob Woodward, Joanne Meckley, Harold Forry and Amos Eberly.



10-year employees: from the left, Howard Merritt, Russ Deibler, Laretta Stutzman, Paul Casner and Craig Weirich.

York Agway Holds meeting

YORK — Members of the Yorkway Agway held their local annual meeting recently at the 4-H center at bar, and elected six to the store's member committee.

Elected to three-year terms were Steve Gross, Roger Perry, Eddie Rohrbaugh and Richard Smyser. Elected to the petroleum committee were Earl Brown and Albert Dehoff.

Member committees were responsible for guiding local management, evaluating the store's service to members and other customers, and nominating

candidates to the 18-member Agway board of directors.

A report covering the York store's operations for the past fiscal year was given by Bob Clark. He told the 300 members present that sales volume for 1981-82 amounted to \$6½ million. He noted improvements to facilities and new services added during the year, including some equipment and the specialization of a feed and crops center. This concept of direct sales is managed by M. Miller.

The Agway petroleum operation for the year was reviewed by Plant

LANCASTER — Pennfield Corporation, 711 Rohrerstown Road, honored 76 employees for a total of 765 years of service. Those honored received their awards from company President, Ernest O. Horn, Jr., at a luncheon last week at the Host Town.

John Snyder, Mountville; and Richard Rudisill, 2017 Columbia Ave., were honored for 35 years of service

Receiving 30-year awards were Cleveland Hastings, 35 N. Plum St.; and Alvin Wiest, Mechanicsburg.

Honored for 25-years of service was Floyd Schell, Dallastown.

Cited for Myear awards were

Cited for 20-year awards were Amos Eberly, Lititz; and Robert Woodward, 1676 New Holland Pike.

Those receiving 15-year awards were Vincent Kuhns, 829 E. Orange St.; Richard Hobday, 2629 Marietta Ave.; Edna Martin, Denver; Reuben Ruppert, Red Lion; Harry Thompson, Mount Joy; Curin Fetron, Dover; Harold Forry, R1 Mounty Joy; Joanne Meckley, Denver; and James Sickles, R1 Ephrata.

Those employees receiving tenyear awards were Laretta Stutzman, 35 Savo Ave.; Craig Weirich, Mountville; Russell Deibler, Halifax; Paul Casner, Lewisberry; Fred Raffensperger, Lititz; Howard Merritt, Stevens; Dale Putt, Akron; and Eugene Scholsnagle, Carlisle.

Recipients of five-year awards were Rita Ruof, 602 W. Chestnut St.; Donald Horn, Jr., Mountville; Richard Shenk, 901 Silver Springs Rd.; Jacob Schell, R1 Dallastown; Mary Anne Wassell, 130 Prentis Pl.; Frank Mears, Millersville; Thomas Arnold, Wrightsville, Norris Geib, Washington Boro Ro; Rick Judd, Washington Boro R1; Jeffrey Witmer, New Providence R1: Glenn Huber, R2 Conestoga; Peter Knutsen, Strasburg; Dennis Myers, Ronks; Frank Bentrem, R5 Elizabethtown; Mark Jaikes, 18 Petersburg Rd.; Reuben Lauer, Manchester; Gary Gladys, Lebanon, Darryl Grube, Lititz; Dennis Houtz, Ephrata, Barry Long, Ephrata; and To Pham Nguyen, Ephrata.

Also honored were six employees with combined service of 152 years, who retired from Pennfield Corporation during the past year. They were Kenneth Beachley, Wormleysburg; and John McCormick, Harrisburg, both of Beachley-Hardy Seed Co., a division of Pennfield; John Renshaw, 321-G Eden Road; and Edgar Snavely, R3 Elizabethtown; Paul Snyder, Littz; and George Stabley, Red Lion, of D.E. Horn & Co. of Red Lion, also a division of Pennfield Corporation.

Manager Tom McGlynn. He emphasized the many un certainties of the petroleum in dustry.

Committee chairperson Eddie Rohrbaugh, who presided at the meeting, reported on the Agway annual meeting held in Syracuse and a recent Agway Council meeting. The Agway Council serves as an advisory group to the Agway Inc. board of directors and is made up of chairpersons of Agway store and representative committees.



5-year employees: front row from left, Rick Shenk, Mary Anne Wassell, Don Horn Jr. and Glen Huber; back row from left, Pete Knutsen, Frank Bentrem, Norris Geib and Reuben Lauer.



Additional 5-year employees: front row from left, To Pham Nguyen, Gary Gladys, Jake Schell and Tom Arnold; back row from left, Frank Mears, Darryl Grube, Barry Long, Rita Ruof, Mark Jaikes, Jeff Witmer and Dennis Myers.



Recent retirees of Pennfield honored at awards banquet include, from the left, front row, John McCormick, Beachley-Hardy-Seed Co.; Edgar Snavely and John Renshaw, but Feed Marketing; back row from left, Paul Snyder, Pennfield Farms Eggs; Kenneth Beachley, of Beachley-Hardy, with Don Horn, Executive Vice President of Pennfield; and George Stabley, D.E. Horn & Co., of Red Lion.

Farm Business News

A report on developments within the entire Agway system was given by Southern Division Director, John Wylie of Harrisburg.

Agway Inc., a farm supply and

food marketing cooperative owned by 110,000 member-stockholders, serves agriculture in 12 northeastern states. Its headquarters are in Syracuse, N.Y.