## Lebanon Livestock Club members receive awards



The Lebanon County Livestock Club held its annual 4-H awards banquet Tuesday evening at the Schaefferstown Fire Hall. Leader Charles Bomgardner presented trophies to

the top beef club members: from left, Brett Eberly, Bryan Eberly, Rodney Bomgardner, and Jeffrey Bomgardner.



Brett Eberly, finishing his last year in 4-H, was honored for his active participation and outstanding achievement as a member during Tuesday evening's banquet. Making the g presentation was leader Harry Bachman.



Hog Club leader Leon Arnold received a special award for serving the 4-H clubs of Lebanon County for 25 years. Other market hog awards went to Daryl Grumbine, left, Tom Arnold, center, and Jeffrey Bomgardner.



Lebanon shepherds receiving their 4-H Moyer, Jr.; and back row, from left, Ann Long, awards from leader Henry Emrich were: front Julie Bow and Melanie Bow. row, from left, Daryl Grumbine and John

## Beef Club members learn the meaning of 'Cooperation'

BY BETH HEMMINGER Staff Correspondent MECHANICSBURG - Cumberland County 4-H Baby Beef Club held their 56th Annual Awards Banquet last week. The event was sponsored by the Mechanicsburg Chamber of

patiently waiting club members. Randy Yost, former owner of the 1981 Cumberland County grand champion steer, was presented an engraved pewter plate for his accomplishments with his black Angus steer. Yost also received the senior champion showmanship award for his outstanding per-

Sandy Hopple, while the junior about his climb of Mt. Rainier with of "prompt obedience" and faith in was captured by Kim Hopple, followed by sister Chris Hopple, who won the intermediate champion showmanship award.

The Club also presented two awards in honor and in memory of deaf. However, through his group of 11 had to have faith in two men, Senator Wade because of his leadership activities, citizenship and integrity in the County and State and Paul E. Brindle because of his years of undaunting service to the 4-H Clubs in Cumberland County. John Wardle was the recipient of the Senator Wade Award. He has been a 4-H member for nine years. As a member of the Cumberland County 4-H Baby Beef Club, he has served as president and vice president. John also assisted with club activities and events as a teen leader. The Paul Brindle Award was presented to Andy Rill. Andy has been an active 4-H member and FFA member. During this past year Andy was selected among thousands of youth scholars to attend the National Institute on Cooperative Education. He was selected on the basis of his outstanding records in the youth organizations by the Pennsylvania Association of Farmer Cooperatives. The guest speaker for the evening was Corporate Attorney Charles O'Brien. O'Brien spoke

champion showmanship award 11 handicapped people. He himself is an amputee; he list his leg in Viet Nam.

O'Brien showed slides of his trip with the eleven others, of which several were blind and several H'er. He said that like 4-H'ers the

one another which was essential in making the climb.

Throughout his talk he related his experiences of cooperation and team work that of the life of a 4-

Commerce.

After a delicious meal of roast beef and all the trimmings, the awards were presented to the

formance at the County Roundup. Receiving the plaque for the Reserve Champion Steer was



The Cumberland County 4-H Baby Beef Club lineup of champions and championship showman includes: left to right, Kim Hopple, Junior Champion Showman; Randy Yost, Grand Champion Steer and Senior Champion Showman; Sandy Hopple, Reserve Champion Steer, and Chris Hopple, Intermediate Champion Showman.

handicaps, but with their attitudes completion of the ultimate goal.

presentation, he expressed his each one's ability to do job concern was not with the groups correctly for the safety and

----



The Cumberland County 4-H Baby Beef Club presented annual Memorial Awards to two outstanding 4-H members during their recent Awards Banquet. Andy Rill was the recipient of the Paul Brindle Memorial Award, receiving a digital wrist watch. The Senator Wade Award was presented, to John Wardle.