PENNSTATE



THE LION'S EYE

Vol. XXI, No. 8

Penn State University, Delaware County Campus

Academic Awards Given: Clement Honored As Outstanding Teacher

by Jill Rhodes

On Wednesday, April 18, 1990 we honored students who have achieved academic excellence at Penn State Delco. The professors, dressed in their academic robes, processed into the library, followed by the students. A representative professor from each college gave out the certificates to the students from their particular colleges.

Dr. George Franz, Assistant Professor of History and last year's recipient of the Outstanding Teacher Award, gave his address before the naming of the 1990 Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award. As the 1989 recipient of the award, Dr. Franz reflected on how stunned he was to be named Teacher of the Year. He quoted many famous authors and educators about teaching. Then, Dr. Clement, Associate Professor of History was named the 1990 award winner, to much applause from her colleagues and

Special awards were given to students for academic excellence by Dr. Bruce Stephens, Associate Professor of Religious Studies and chairperson of the Faculty Senate. The recipients were Karen Hayes, College of Business Administration, Robert Kaercher, also in the College of Business Administration, Lori Rappucci, College of the Liberal Arts, Kimberely Sanford, College of Science, and Amy Stegeman, College of Engineering.

Mary Kay Cote, Director of Continuing Education gave recognition to the adult students. Anne Marie Rowley received the Outstanding Adult Student Award. She is a wife, mother, nurse, and student. She has a full work load but she keeps up with everything by "constantly prioritizing and reprioritizing.

Dr. Madlyn Hanes, Director of Academic Affairs gave recognition to the scholarship and prize recipients. They are the following:

Alumni Engineering Award - Robert Edwards

Landon C. Burns Prize — Patricia

Judge Louis A. Bloom Scholarship -James Bilson

Chester County Alumni Club Award Timothy Drain

Lawrence E. Hallstrom Memorial

Scholarship — Michael Messick H. Leonard Krouse Award — Brian

Enverso, Joan Imagliazzo Dewey La Rosa Memorial Scholar-

- Samuel Brullo PNC Financial Corp Scholarship —

Terrance Donahue Sylvia Schaffer Prize - Patricia McAdams

Jane H. Sheetz Memorial Scholarship - Caroline Saba

John D. and Greta C. Vairo Scholarship — Paul Kirkegaard
Gilbert A. Wetzel Scholarship —

Edwin Escalante

It was a proud evening for the students, faculty, and their families. We offer congratulations to all who were honored and to Dr. Clement for her outstanding achievements.



Ah Spring! Artist Joe Baker and his work are admired by Art Instructor Connie Kirker and students. (More Spring Week pictures on pg. 3.)

Photo by: JOHN PALKA

23rd Annual Ceremony

Snyder, Martin Win Campus Service Awards

by Jennifer Darr

Countless awards were given out at the Twenty-third Annual Student Awards Ceremony on Monday, April 16. Dr. Tomezsko kicked the whole thing off

with a speech commending the students of Penn State University's Delaware County Campus for their excellent ability to work outside jobs, be actively involved in clubs and organizations, and still maintain good grades.

Nominated for the prestigious award for Outstanding Service to Campus and Community were Terrance Donahue, Timothy Drain, Robert Martin, Charles McCarthy, John Palka, Sheri Snyder, and Francine Stedeford. The winner, whose name was kept secret until the announcement, was Sheri Snyder.

The nominees for the Walker Award for outstanding service to the campus were: John Palka, Robert W. Martin, and Francine Stedeford. John is a Liberal Arts Major; Robert and Francine both plan to attend the college of education. The proud recipient of this award was Robert W. Martin. Nominated for the Outstanding Adult Student Award were Joan Impagliazzo, Patricia McAdams, Anne Marie Rowley, Michael W. Messick, and Matthew J. Spitz. That award went to Anne Marie Rowley. The Adult Student Organization Award went to Pat Cape, the founder of the organization.

Sgt. Russell Wilder presented the R.O.T.C. awards to Dr. Ed Tomezsko, Marianne Rhodes, Dr. John Ousey, Linda Campitelli, Carolyn Boswell, Monica Wilder, Theresa Walls, and Mary Matus. The Student Government Association Awards were presented by Marni Hollis and Tony Watson. Charles Mc-Carthy received the gavel award as incoming president. Other awards were given out to Nancy Trainor, Mary Bell Filippone, Phyllis Payne, Mr. Charles Coleman, Mr. Tony Watson, Fran Feindt, Fran Stedeford, Cynthia Kugelman, and John Palka. Mr. Tony Watson presented Marni Hollis with the gavel award as outgoing president and the award for outstanding service as SGA president for the 1989-90 school year.

The Student Activities Commission presented Mr. Lou Fisher and Mr. Andy Kearney each with an award. The Black Student League gave out ten academic awards. They went to Edward Manigult, Paul Slater, Nicole Neil, Eric Bell, Timothy Thompson, Shelly Keyes, Guy Schultz, Crystal McKissick, Gary Jones, and Dara Herring. Sgt. Wilder was given a service award by the BSL, and the officers of the BSL, which are Craig Lewis, Carmen Simmons, Dara Herring, and Janeen Sanders were also given

The following Campus Ambassadors received awards: Caroline Saba, Victor Parada, Beth Cook, Jackie Dische, Tim Drain, Terry Donahue, Brian Enverso, Joan Impagliazzo, Alexandra Hilt, David Lund, Dale Marchand, Rob Martin, Debi McKinley, and Sherri Ann Snyder.

John Stouffer presented the Engineering Technology Club Awards to the president of the club, Eric Hudson, the vice-president, Ruby Wallinger, and to the treasurer-recorder, Abe Boughner. The Nittany Christian Fellowship award went to Aaron Coury.

Barbara Daniel, the advisor for the Lion's Eye, presented awards to Charles McCarthy' editor-in-chief, Jill Rhodes, art editor, and staff reporters Judith Belson, John Palka, Jennifer Darr, Fran Stedeford, Steve Reiff, Kelly Hess, Chris Smith and photographer Patrick

To finish up the ceremony, Phyllis Touchstone presented the S.A.D.D. awards and the Health Club awards. The S.A.D.D. awards went to Angela Pokowka, Fran Stedeford, John Palka, and Karen Swartz. The Health Club awards went to the vice-president of the club, Chandler Evans, and to the president of the club, Peter Douds.

After the ceremony, a reception was held in the student lounge where refreshments were enjoyed by all.



Brian Enverso receives the H. Leonard Krouse Award from Dr. Tomezsko and the award's sponsor at the recent Honors Convocation.

Photo by: MARY MATUS

Many Thanks To

- .. everyone who participated in the Blood Drive. 120 pints were collected, which is over the quota that was set for us. Special thanks to the ROTC who cleared the room and helped set up the units; to the Blood Drop for his willingness to recruit; to all the clubs and organizations who contributed time and energy in recruiting; to all of the students who made this their project.
- . . . a caring campus which raised over \$400 for the Phillip McShane Fund to help defray expenses resulting from his serious car accident. Special thanks to Fran Stedeford for organizing the Bake Sale to raise the money, and thanks to those who baked and to those who