Donna M. Baver Wins Pocono Eric Walker Award

Donna Marie Baver, sophonore journalism major and Editorin-Chief of the Highacres Collegian, was chosen as the recipient of both the Highacres and Pocono region levels of the Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award for outstanding Commonwealth Campus students.

The award was founded by Eric A. Walker, past president of Penn State, to honor outstanding Commonwealth Campus students.

Miss Baver's grade average is a 3.21. In addition to being editor of the Collegian, she is the Co-Editor-in-Chief of the "New Horizons Literary Magazine," vice president of the Belles-Lettres Society, secretary of the Parnassus Honor Society, and founder and past president of the Drama Club. She is also a member of Who's Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges.

Santulli.

Miss Baver is the founder of a weekly column in the Hazleton Standard-Speaker entitled "Highacres Happenings." She has published a number of her poems in national poetry anthologies, among them the National Poetry Press College Poetry Anthology. She represented the Belles-Lettres Society for the past two years in the Greater Hazleton Fine Arts Festival, having secured highest honors in the Highacres Dramatic Reading Festital both of those years. She has also acted as chairwoman for the past two years for the high school reading festival.



Donna Marie Baver

Miss Baver is employed full-time as an editorial assistant at the Hazleton Standard-Speaker.

She was entered in the Po-Her sponsor was Dr. Michael cono region competition against representatives from the Scranton, Schuylkill and Allentown campuses. The judging committee for the regional award consisted of the Keystone Honor Society of the Deans of Student Affairs from each of the campuses. Judgement on the local level was done by Dean McCallus, Dr. David and Mr. Schneider. It was based on a nomination packet and a personal interview with each candidate.

The campus award consists of an engraved medallion for the winner and a wall plaque for the campus. The regional award consists of a wall plaque for the campus and a certificate of recognition for the winner.

Anthracite Women Mainstay of Struggles

Dr. James Sperry irom Bloomsburg State College was the guest speaker at the second annual Anthracite Festival. His topic was "Women's Role In The Anthracite Strike." This aspect of American history gave the historical social role women played in forming coal miners'

policies concerning strikes and worker's rights.

Dr. Sperry pointed out that women had the dominant role in many out of the thousands of strikes we have had in Eastern Pennsylvania. He mentioned the fact that women were actually standing

Continued next column.

in the middle of the street with arms inter-locked to stop state troopers from coming through. Although many of the women were injured by the state troopers, they still persisted to fight and refused to break their arm locks when the troops came charging at them on horseback. The remaining women used clubs, rocks or anything they could use to defend themselves and their husbands. It is amusing to note while the women were fighting, the men just stood back to watch.

It remains a fact that women had a very important and dramatic role in enforcing policies of coal miners in any history of the anthracite region.

Dr. Sperry also mentioned the fact that much information on this topic can be found in the old Plain Speaker of Hazleton and also the Wilkes Barre court house documents.

Parnassus Officers Elected

The Parnassus Chapter inducted four new members Tuesday, April 29, in the Highacres Room of the campus library. Bill Michael, president of the society, presided over the ceremonies. After the opening greetings

by Parnassus advisor, Mr. James Concannon, it was announced that Professor Andrew Kafka, and Dr. and Mrs. David would be inducted as honorary members. Two other inductees, Doreen Mayo and Dave Berish, were unable to attend. The new members in attendance were James Durso, Brad Mc-Nab, Joe Melnick, and Susan Olexa.

Highlighting the evening was the election of officers for next year. Results were as follows: Joe Melnick will replace Bill Michael as president; Brad McNab will replace Chril Tito as vice-president; Jim Durso will replace Donna Marie Baver as secretary; and Doreen Mayo will replace Donny Serfass as treasurer.

After the initiation. refreshements were enjoyed.